Take sides on the hot topics of the day

December 13, 2013

Is Michael Clarke a deserving winner of the ICC Cricketer of the Year award?


He has been phenomenal with the bat during the consideration period, especially considering he was leading a struggling Australian side coming to terms with the retirement of many experienced players.


Clarke has accomplished little of note in limited-overs cricket in the consideration period. While he deserved the Test award, players like Dale Steyn, Hashim Amla and Kumar Sangakkara were far more impactful across formats.


© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

. Your ESPN name '' will be used to display your comments. Please click here to edit this.
Comments have now been closed for this article

December 26, 2013, 6:06 GMT


Michael Clarke has pulled the Australian team along by his own bootstraps in the early part of 2013. If he had stayed at No.5, he would have probably gotten 1000 runs this year. But no, he's left that to Ian Bell.

December 16, 2013, 19:31 GMT


Michael Clarke rightly deseves 'The ICC Cricketer Of The Year' Award for the Garfield Sobers Trophy.

December 16, 2013, 3:58 GMT


The decision has been made and nobody cares anyway. Get on with life.

January 15, 2014, 4:20 GMT


Should have been De Villiers or Steyn . . .

December 23, 2013, 14:35 GMT


No. Chanderpaul should have got it. His average is superb and has always held the windies together.

December 15, 2013, 21:19 GMT


This shows the bias towards Aussies and English players the game has.

December 15, 2013, 6:41 GMT


No,he doesn't deserve the main award and also not the test cricketer of the year award. Look at Steyn and Sanga and you will know what they have done over the last year. Steyn should have been Test cricketer of the year. Sad to see hat every year a batsman wins the award when it belongs to Steyn who is simply fro another planet. we are so used to sing paeans in the praise of batsmen that we have forgotten Steyn's worth as a bowler in the era of Sachin, Ponting, Kallis,Dravid.

December 14, 2013, 21:59 GMT


Insert comment here about why Sachin should win it.

December 14, 2013, 21:57 GMT


AB should have won. This year his test average has been over 70 and he is phenomenal player in ODIs and T20s.

December 14, 2013, 21:12 GMT


I think Hashim Amla or AB Deviliers should be selected as players of the year. Clarke was extremely good in test cricket but his performance in ODI and T2020 is not that good. MS dhoni could be one guy who can be selected as player of the year because he performed well in all formats