2nd Test, Zimbabwe tour of Pakistan at Faisalabad, Oct 24-26 1996
133 & 200
(18.5 ov, target 67)
267 & 69/0
Pakistan won by 10 wickets
Player Of The Match
Zimbabwe 1st Innings
GW Flower  b Wasim Akram1525292060.00
MH Dekker c †Moin Khan b Wasim Akram1943602044.18
CB Wishart lbw b Waqar Younis0112000.00
DL Houghton  b Wasim Akram1360033.33
ADR Campbell (c)c †Moin Khan b Saqlain Mushtaq921331042.85
A Flower c Mohammad Hussain b Shahid Nazir611441837042.36
GJ Whittall  b Wasim Akram951651017.64
PA Strang c Saleem Malik b Mohammad Hussain323340013.04
BC Strang  b Wasim Akram11415007.14
M Mbangwa  b Wasim Akram02332000.00
EZ Matambanadzo not out017000.00
Extras(b 4, lb 10, nb 1)15
TOTAL(57.5 Ov, RR: 2.29, 244 Mts)133
Fall of wickets: 1-22 (Grant Flower), 2-33 (Craig Wishart), 3-34 (Dave Houghton), 4-49 (Mark Dekker), 5-55 (Alistair Campbell), 6-102 (Guy Whittall), 7-111 (Paul Strang), 8-118 (Bryan Strang), 9-129 (Pommie Mbangwa), 10-133 (Andy Flower)
Wasim Akram2084862.4001
Waqar Younis1161311.1800
Saqlain Mushtaq1552811.8601
Shahid Nazir5.502313.9400
Mohammad Hussain63711.1600
Pakistan 1st Innings
Saeed Anwar c †A Flower b Matambanadzo819712616083.50
Aamer Sohail lbw b Matambanadzo26110033.33
Ijaz Ahmed c †A Flower b Mbangwa216120012.50
Saleem Malik c †A Flower b BC Strang1833582054.54
Hasan Raza c Houghton b BC Strang2748645056.25
Wasim Akram (c) b Mbangwa3547677074.46
Moin Khan c †A Flower b BC Strang5810013611058.00
Mohammad Hussain run out (GW Flower)0711000.00
Saqlain Mushtaq not out15881151017.04
Waqar Younis  b GW Flower2332365071.87
Shahid Nazir lbw b PA Strang1360033.33
Extras(lb 4, nb 1)5
TOTAL(79.1 Ov, RR: 3.37, 331 Mts)267
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Aamer Sohail), 2-10 (Ijaz Ahmed), 3-67 (Saleem Malik), 4-127 (Saeed Anwar), 5-141 (Hasan Raza), 6-194 (Wasim Akram), 7-200 (Mohammad Hussain), 8-235 (Moin Khan), 9-264 (Waqar Younis), 10-267 (Shahid Nazir)
EZ Matambanadzo1106225.6300
M Mbangwa1716723.9400
BC Strang1865332.9401
GJ Whittall741101.5700
PA Strang24.186612.7300
GW Flower20412.0000
Zimbabwe 2nd Innings
GW Flower lbw b Wasim Akram022000.00
MH Dekker lbw b Waqar Younis016000.00
CB Wishart c Saleem Malik b Waqar Younis729391024.13
DL Houghton lbw b Wasim Akram731021528171.56
ADR Campbell (c)c †Moin Khan b Shahid Nazir52871246059.77
A Flower c Saeed Anwar b Waqar Younis2341724056.09
GJ Whittall lbw b Shahid Nazir069000.00
PA Strang  b Waqar Younis936471025.00
BC Strang not out1328453046.42
EZ Matambanadzo  b Wasim Akram714340050.00
M Mbangwa lbw b Wasim Akram2330066.66
Extras(lb 8, nb 6)14
TOTAL(57.4 Ov, RR: 3.46, 271 Mts)200
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Grant Flower), 2-0 (Mark Dekker), 3-23 (Craig Wishart), 4-136 (Dave Houghton), 5-136 (Alistair Campbell), 6-140 (Guy Whittall), 7-169 (Paul Strang), 8-174 (Andy Flower), 9-198 (Everton Matambanadzo), 10-200 (Pommie Mbangwa)
Wasim Akram18.445843.1004
Waqar Younis1535443.6001
Saqlain Mushtaq713404.8500
Shahid Nazir1152522.2700
Mohammad Hussain411403.5000
Saleem Malik20703.5000
Pakistan 2nd Innings (target: 67 runs)
Saeed Anwar not out5066859075.75
Aamer Sohail not out1847853038.29
Extras(w 1)1
TOTAL(18.5 Ov, RR: 3.66)69/0
EZ Matambanadzo502705.4000
M Mbangwa731402.0000
BC Strang4.512004.1310
PA Strang20804.0000
Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad
TossZimbabwe , elected to bat first
SeriesZimbabwe tour of Pakistan
Player Of The Match
Wasim Akram
Player Of The Series
Wasim Akram
Series resultPakistan won the 2-match series 1-0
Match numberTest no. 1337
Match days24,25,26 October 1996 (5-day match)
Test debut
Hasan Raza
Mohammad Hussain
Everton Matambanadzo
Pommie Mbangwa
Mahboob Shah
Doug Cowie
TV Umpire
Shakeel Khan
Match Referee
Jackie Hendriks
Thu, 24 Oct - day 1 - Pakistan 1st innings 114/3 (Saeed Anwar 69*, Hasan Raza 20*)
Fri, 25 Oct - day 2 - Zimbabwe 2nd innings 136/3 (DL Houghton 73*, ADR Campbell 51*)
Sat, 26 Oct - day 3 - Pakistan 2nd innings 69/0 (18.5 ov) - end of match
Day 3
  • Saeed Anwar 50 (66), 85 mins, 9x4
Day 2
  • DL Houghton 50 (72), 105 mins, 6x4
  • ADR Campbell 50 (69), 102 mins, 6x4
Day 1
  • A Flower 50 (107), 130 mins, 6x4
  • Saeed Anwar 50 (61), 95 mins, 9x4
  • Hasan Raza makes his debut as the youngest Test cricketer ever, at 14 years, 227 days, beating the previous mark of 15 yrs, 124 days, set by Mushtaq Mohammed.
  • Doubts about Raza's birthdate and medical tests later resulted in the PCB withdrawing the record claim, His actual age is uncertain, but is likely around 15 at the time of debut.