Matches (12)
IND v ENG (1)
PSL 2024 (1)
WPL (1)
BPL 2024 (2)
Ranji Trophy (4)
CWC Play-off (3)
Final, Harare, July 07, 2001, Coca-Cola Cup (Zimbabwe)
(50 ov, T:291) 274/8

West Indies won by 16 runs

Player Of The Match
Player Of The Series
282 runs
West Indies Innings
India Innings
Match Flow
West Indies  (50 ovs maximum)
c Laxman b Sodhi71628170114.51
c sub (Harvinder Singh) b Harbhajan Singh4345548095.55
c & b Sodhi1032390031.25
c Harbhajan Singh b Khan66639731104.76
b Nehra5064733078.12
not out 26203420130.00
b Nehra16101020160.00
not out 3570060.00
Extras(lb 2, nb 1, w 2)5
TOTAL50 Ov (RR: 5.80, 198 Mins)290/6
Fall of wickets: 1-86 (Chris Gayle, 13.3 ov), 2-120 (Daren Ganga, 20.5 ov), 3-130 (Wavell Hinds, 24.2 ov), 4-238 (Shivnarine Chanderpaul, 42.6 ov), 5-252 (Carl Hooper, 45.1 ov), 6-285 (Ramnaresh Sarwan, 48.4 ov)
42.6 to S Chanderpaul, full, straight and on the off, Chanderpaul plays across the line and gets clean bowled, false shot that but a good innings comes to an end. 238/4
48.4 to RR Sarwan, full, straight and on the leg stump, Sarwan moves around in his crease and flicks, pplaying down the wrong line Sarwan sees his stumps shattered. 285/6
45.1 to CL Hooper, full and outside the off, Hooper makes a bit of room and tries to play inside out over the off side, the West Indian skipper gets right under the ball and skies it to Harbhajan Singh. 252/5
13.3 to CH Gayle, back of a length and outside the off, Gayle drives on the up trying to clear long off, straight to the substitute fielder Harvinder Singh who makes no mistake, end of a whirlwind innings. 86/1
20.5 to D Ganga, short of a length, Ganga plays the pull shot off his front fott, a big mistake indeed, ball coming on slow to the batsman, skies it high in the air towards mid-wicket, Laxman takes the catch, end of a good and entertaining knock by Ganga. 120/2
24.2 to WW Hinds, short of a length, goes for the big pull, mistimes it, plays it back to the bowler, good catch by Sodhi. 130/3
India  (T: 291 runs from 50 ovs)
lbw b Collymore2832383187.50
c Ganga b Collymore0410000.00
c sub (LV Garrick) b Collymore1822463081.81
b King3032436093.75
c sub (LV Garrick) b Dillon27120028.57
c Dillon b Collymore6775893389.33
not out 94961197297.91
b Gayle12111320109.09
b Gayle011000.00
not out 1820261090.00
Extras(lb 4, w 1)5
TOTAL50 Ov (RR: 5.48, 203 Mins)274/8
Did not bat:
Fall of wickets: 1-9 (Sachin Tendulkar, 2.3 ov), 2-35 (Sourav Ganguly, 8.3 ov), 3-58 (VVS Laxman, 12.2 ov), 4-74 (Virender Sehwag, 14.5 ov), 5-80 (Rahul Dravid, 17.3 ov), 6-181 (Reetinder Sodhi, 39.1 ov), 7-209 (Harbhajan Singh, 42.3 ov), 8-209 (Zaheer Khan, 42.4 ov)
2.3 to SR Tendulkar, back of a length and outside the off, Tendulkar goes for the pull without getting into position and takes the ball high on the bat, the ball balloons up for midwicket to catch. 9/1
8.3 to SC Ganguly, full, quick and straight, Ganguly drives and misses, Colleymore hitrs, rapped on the pad, plumb in front, 2nd wicket for Colleymore - a crucial blow. 35/2
12.2 to VVS Laxman, back of a length and on the pads, pulled hard straight to the man at square leg, another wicket for Laxman. 58/3
39.1 to RS Sodhi, full and on the off, Sodhi hits the ball straight to Dillon at long on. 181/6
14.5 to V Sehwag, just short of a good length, rising, Sehwag goes back and tries to force the ball through the on side, plays it in the air, straight into the hands of Garrick. 74/4
17.3 to R Dravid, short of a length, cutting back in sharply, Dravid stands on his toes and hangs his bat in defense, too far away from his bat, goes right through, bowled! curtains coming in a hurry on this Indian run chase. 80/5
42.3 to Harbhajan Singh, after hitting a few runs, Harbhajan is bowled by a straight one from Gayle. 209/7
42.4 to Z Khan, full and straight again, Zaheer Plaus a big shot and misses, clean bowled. 209/8
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
  • West Indies 50 in 7.3 overs, 31 mins
  • D Ganga 50 in 39 balls, 59 mins (5x4)
  • West Indies 100 in 16.1 overs, 63 mins
  • West Indies 150 in 28.4 overs, 109 mins
  • West Indies 200 in 37.1 overs, 146 mins
  • S Chanderpaul 50 in 62 balls, 71 mins (3x4)
Harare Sports Club
TossIndia, elected to field first
Player Of The Match
Player Of The Series
Series resultWest Indies won the 2001 Coca-Cola Cup (Zimbabwe)
Match numberODI no. 1734
Match daysday (50-over match)
TV Umpire
Match Referee
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
India Innings
<1 / 3>
Coca-Cola Cup (Zimbabwe)