Matches (12)
T20I Tri-Series (1)
IPL (1)
USA vs BAN (1)
County DIV1 (5)
County DIV2 (4)
Group C, Agartala, November 07 - 09, 2013, Ranji Trophy
141 & 188
(T:144) 186 & 144/2

Himachal won by 8 wickets


All-round Himachal thump Tripura

A round-up of the third day's play of Group C's second round matches from the Ranji Trophy

Himachal Pradesh 186 (Dhawan 67, Saha 5-53) and 144 for 2 (Chopra 84*, Sangram 32) beat Tripura 141 (Abhijit Dey 66, Malik 5-37) and 188 (Pawan 86, Bipul 4-30, Dhawan 3-48) by eight wickets
Rishi Dhawan and Bipul Sharma picked up seven second-innings wickets between them, before an unbeaten 84 from Prashant Chopra helped Himachal Pradesh comprehensively defeat Tripura by eight wickets in Agartala.
Tripura began the day on their overnight score of 101 for 1 and KB Pawan and Abhijit Dey looked set to extend their stand and set up a strong target for Himachal to chase. Instead, Dey's wicket in the fifth over of the day set off a batting collapse that Tripura could not recover from. KB Pawan tried to hold the innings together, but once he fell for 86, with the score at 148 for 5, the rest of the side folded meekly.
Bipul finished with 4 for 30, while Dhawan conceded 48 runs from his 21 overs, and took three wickets, to set Himachal 144 for victory.
Chopra and Sangram Singh put up an opening-stand of 89, that set Himachal up nicely. Sangram and Paras Dogra departed in quick succession, but Chopra carried on, slamming seven fours and three sixes, and added 48 runs with Abhinav Bali to take Himachal to victory.
Hyderabad 218 for 4 (Suman 126, Akshath 39) trail Assam 501 for 9 dec (Gokul 161*, Roy 134) by 283 runs
T Suman's third first-class ton helped Hyderabad chip away at Assam's mammoth first-innings score of 501 for 9 in Guwahati, in a match that is likely to finish in a draw.
Suman's 126 came off 170 deliveries, and included nine fours and nine sixes. He dominated the 135-run opening stand with Akshath Reddy, before the latter was bowled by Arlen Konwar in the 40th over for 39. Suman then added 66 runs for the second wicket with Hanuma Vihari.
Hyderabad however suffered three late blows at the end of the day, as Suman and Vihari were out in successive overs, and Akash Bhandari followed five overs later, leaving them at 218 for 4, trailing Assam by 283 runs.
Assam, who had started the day at 422 for 6, lost three wickets for 79 runs, before declaring the innings. Gokul Sharma remained unbeaten on 161.
Andhra 288 for 3 (Sumanth 90, Sriram 82*) trail Kerala 486 (Samson 115, Fernandez 88, Vijaykumar 3-66) by 198 runs
Fifties from Srikar Bharat, Murumulla Sriram and Bodapati Sumanth helped Andhra to 288 for 3 at stumps, edging them closer towards Kerala's first-innings total of 486.
Andhra were propelled by an opening partnership of 77 between Bharat and Prasanth Kumar. However, Kerala delivered a double blow, as Prasanth was run-out by Sandeep Warrier in the 29th, and four overs later, Bharat was caught for 62 by Sanju Samson off Prasanth Parameswaran.
Andhra had fallen to 97 for 2, but Sriram and Sumanth counterattacked by putting up a third-wicket stand of 172. Sumanth eventually fell 10 runs short of what would have been his sixth first-class century. He was caught by Rohan Prem off Chovvakkaran Shahid. Sriram remained unbeaten at 82, as the pair lasted for nearly 63 overs. Andhra finished the day having reduced the deficit to 198 runs.
Goa 317 and 245 for 9 (Vaz 59, Rasool 4-65) lead Jammu & Kashmir 302 (Rishi 80, Jakati 5-79) by 260 runs
Shadab Jakati's eighth five-wicket haul in first-class cricket helped Goa bundle Jammu & Kashmir out for 302 in Srinagar, but an incisive bowling performance from the hosts pegged Goa back to 245 for 9 in their second innings, carrying forward a lead of 260 runs, as the game remained finely balanced heading into day four.
J&K had started the day at 282 for 8, but their tail survived for 14 overs and added 20 more runs to curtail Goa's lead to just 15. Goa would've looked to put up a commanding total, but got off to a poor start as three of their top four batsmen all fell for cheap scores within the first 14 overs. Opener Amogh Desai had to retire hurt on 25 not out which just added to their woes. Ravikant Shukla and Keenan Vaz, who hit 59, added 75 for the fourth wicket, but Parvez Rasool dismissed the pair, as well Jakati, to finish the day with 4 for 65.
Saurabh Bandekar and Amit Yadav rallied forward with a 51-run stand to take Goa to 225, but Manik Gupta inflicted two late blows by removing Bandekar as well as the No.10 batsman Harshad Gadekar, as Goa reached 245 for 9.

AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
Himachal Innings
<1 / 3>

Ranji Trophy

Group A
Group B
Group C
J + K8422281.006