Final, Delhi, February 27, 2018, Vijay Hazare Trophy
(46.3/50 ov, T:254) 212

Karnataka won by 41 runs

Player Of The Match
90 (79)
Karnataka Innings
Saurashtra Innings
Karnataka  (50 ovs maximum)
Mayank Agarwal c Unadkat b DA Jadeja9079117113113.92
Karun Nair (c) b Sanandia048000.00
KL Rahul run out (Vyas)037000.00
Ravikumar Samarth  b Mankad48651071173.84
Pavan Deshpande c & b Makvana4960794181.66
Stuart Binny c †Barot b Mankad55910100.00
Shreyas Gopal run out (Vasavada)31282960110.71
Krishnappa Gowtham c Mankad b Makvana912161075.00
Sreenath Aravind lbw b Makvana13102410130.00
T Pradeep not out 17110014.28
Prasidh Krishna  b Makvana022000.00
Extras(lb 2, w 5)7
TOTAL45.5 Ov (RR: 5.52, 209 Mins)253
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Karun Nair, 1.4 ov), 2-5 (KL Rahul, 2.5 ov), 3-141 (Mayank Agarwal, 24.4 ov), 4-147 (Ravikumar Samarth, 25.5 ov), 5-167 (Stuart Binny, 27.6 ov), 6-208 (Shreyas Gopal, 35.6 ov), 7-223 (Krishnappa Gowtham, 39.6 ov), 8-244 (Pavan Deshpande, 43.4 ov), 9-253 (Sreenath Aravind, 45.3 ov), 10-253 (Prasidh Krishna, 45.5 ov)
Jaydev Unadkat804005.00286000
Shaurya Sanandia712914.14282100
1.4 to KK Nair, Sanandia storms through the gate of Nair. After three outswingers, Sanandia brings this full one back into the Karnataka stand-in captain. He aims to drive on the up, and plays outside the line, Sanandia sneaks through the defences and sends the off stump cartwheeling. What an early lift-off for Saurashtra. 4/1
Chirag Jani603806.33142130
Prerak Mankad905426.00245110
25.5 to R Samarth, knocks him over! The ball is very full. He lunges forward to drive it through the covers, but it pitches in the rough outside off and breaks in so very sharply to hit the stumps. A vicious offcutter. An unplayable jaffa. 147/4
27.6 to STR Binny, Mankad thinks he has his man. The soft signal is out. Floated full, offcutter in the channel, Binny does not spot the change-up. His front foot is nowhere near the pitch of the ball. He simply hangs his bat out with his hands and feathers it behind to the keeper. Three quick wickets have pinned down Karnataka after Agarwal's blows. 167/5
Dharmendrasinh Jadeja705618.00187200
24.4 to MA Agarwal, taken at long-off! He won't have his century and that realisation hits him as he is walking back. The ball is tossed up wide of him, so his attempt to hit it hard can't be faulted. But he could perhaps have placed it better. Goes straight to Unadkat positioned on the edge of the boundary. 141/3
Kamlesh Makwana8.513443.84303000
39.6 to K Gowtham, Gowtham looks to hit over the top again but mid-off had been pushed back after the boundary in the previous over. Full and sliding across off from round the stumps, Gowtham shimmies out and lofts it into the lap of long-off. Poor game awareness from Gowtham. 223/7
43.4 to PU Deshpande, Deshpande rocks away outside leg, makes a mess of the drive, and scoops a return catch. No fifty for him. He gives himself room, the bowler follows him with a flat dart and cramps him up for room. All Deshpande can do is (mis)hit it back to Makvana. 244/8
45.3 to S Aravind, straight ball on middle stump from around the wicket, Aravind dares to sweep across the line, misses the shot, and is trapped in line with middle. Makvana takes his third wicket. 253/9
45.5 to M Prasidh Krishna, hard-spun offbreak, full, starts outside off and turns back in sharply. Krishna wildly swings across the line and only collects fresh air. Makvana hits off stump and claims career-best figures. 253/10
Saurashtra  (T: 254 runs from 50 ovs)
Samarth Vyas c †Rahul b Prasidh Krishna106420166.66
Avi Barot c Gopal b Binny3043844069.76
Dharmendrasinh Jadeja  b Prasidh Krishna1570020.00
Cheteshwar Pujara (c)run out (Nair)9412717510174.01
Ravindra Jadeja c Samarth b Deshpande1538370139.47
Prerak Mankad c Samarth b Gowtham022000.00
Arpit Vasavada c Nair b Gowtham021000.00
Chirag Jani run out (Samarth/Gowtham)2225251188.00
Jaydev Unadkat lbw b Gowtham032000.00
Kamlesh Makwana not out 2023393086.95
Shaurya Sanandia  b Prasidh Krishna75701140.00
Extras(b 2, lb 4, w 7)13
TOTAL46.3 Ov (RR: 4.55, 196 Mins)212
Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Samarth Vyas, 0.6 ov), 2-15 (Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, 2.2 ov), 3-77 (Avi Barot, 17.5 ov), 4-101 (Ravindra Jadeja, 27.5 ov), 5-101 (Prerak Mankad, 28.2 ov), 6-101 (Arpit Vasavada, 28.4 ov), 7-134 (Chirag Jani, 36.2 ov), 8-135 (Jaydev Unadkat, 36.6 ov), 9-200 (Cheteshwar Pujara, 44.6 ov), 10-212 (Shaurya Sanandia, 46.3 ov)
Prasidh Krishna7.303734.93275030
0.6 to SB Vyas, taken! Plays inside the line of the ball and pays his price. Quick and short outside off, and angling into Vyas. He tried to defend but the ball straightened slightly after pitching, forcing the ball to take the bat's outside edge. Sharply taken by the keeper diving to his right. Just the start Karnataka would've wanted. 11/1
2.2 to DA Jadeja, Krishna strikes again! The tactic to send the No. 11 doesn't work at all. Short outside off and he tries to defend off the back foot, but the ball takes the inside edge and crashes into middle stump. 15/2
46.3 to SM Sanandia, it's all over! Karnataka win their third Vijay Hazare trophy in five seasons. Good length on middle stump and the batsman misses his leg-side paddle. Clips the top of leg stump as Karnataka begin their celebrations!. 212/10
T Pradeep611803.00272020
Sreenath Aravind704206.00223210
Stuart Binny713715.28225010
17.5 to AA Barot, holes out! Soft dismissal really. Full on off stump and Barot tries to smack this over the long-on boundary. The cross-seam ball grips the pitch a little, and Barot is through his shot too early. Simple catch at long on. Barot gives his wicket away after a good knock. 77/3
Krishnappa Gowtham1032732.70421100
28.2 to PN Mankad, Taken by Samarth once again! Full outside off, and the new batsman hits a crisp drive. But Mankad's played this on the up and enough time for Samarth to get his body behind the line. Straight to cover, and Saurashtra lose their fifth. 101/5
28.4 to AV Vasavada, third wicket in five balls! Oh dear, the wickets are tumbling in a heap now. Full and wide outside off, entices the batsman to drive away from his body. The extra bounce takes the outside edge, and pocketed by first slip. 101/6
36.6 to JD Unadkat, another wicket! Lbw this time. Full on off stump and he misses the sweep shot. Hits him right in front of middle and off. Easy decision for the umpire. Hit his back leg there. As plumb as it can be.. 135/8
Pavan Deshpande301314.33100100
27.5 to RA Jadeja, and he holes out next ball! Terrible from Jadeja. Tries to repeat that slogsweep and this time it comes off the bat's bottom. Goes into the air, and taken by mid off. 101/4
Shreyas Gopal603205.33174000
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi
TossSaurashtra, elected to field first
Player Of The Match
Mayank Agarwal
Series resultKarnataka won the 2017/18 Vijay Hazare Trophy
Hours of play (local time)09.00 start, First Session 09.00-12.30, Interval 12.30-13.15, Second Session 13.15-16.45
Match days27 February 2018 - day (50-over match)
TV Umpire
Match Referee
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
Saurashtra Innings
<1 / 3>
Vijay Hazare Trophy
Group A
Group B
Group C
Group D
J + K62408-1.040