Bangladesh have picked three newcomers, including the little-known left-arm fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman in the 15-man A squad that will play two four-day matches in West Indies from May 26. Opening batsman Abdul Mazid and left-arm spinner Taijul Islam have also made the squad.

West Indies also named a 13-man squad which included capped players such as Kraigg Brathwaite, Devendra Bishoo and Sheldon Cottrell.

Mustafizur, a left-arm fast bowler, came to Dhaka from his hometown Satkhira two years ago to trial at a fast-bowling camp at the Shere Bangla National Stadium. There, he caught the eye of the coaches and was regularly selected for the Under-19 squads, eventually playing in the World Cup this year where he took nine wickets at 18.44. He is currently playing only his second first-class game, the Bangladesh Cricket League final, having made his debut for Khulna Division last month.

Faruque Ahmed, the chief selector, was excited by the 18-year-old's potential, which was a major factor behind his decision to pick Mustafizur ahead of several experienced campaigners.

"He is the best Under-19 bowler in the country," Faruque told EPSNcricinfo. "It is not necessary that he will play matches but he is a prospect, and offers us the left-arm seam variety. This is the 15-man squad for the four-day matches, so there will be a few changes for the one-dayers and T20s."

Nasir Hossain has been given the duty to lead the side while eight players, including Mominul Haque and Sohag Gazi, who had been on the A team for the England tour last year were selected this year as well.

Mazid, who played for National Cricket League champions Dhaka Division as well Central Zone in the BCL, has made 721 runs at an average of 60.08 with two centuries, while Taijul is the leading wicket-taker in domestic cricket this season in Bangladesh, having picked up 53 scalps at an average of 20.62 for Rajshahi Division and North Zone, with an innings of the BCL final still remaining.

Nurul Hasan has been given a berth for a strong domestic showing, while Elias Sunny, who was picked ahead of at least five left-arm spinners who have more than 25 wickets in first-class cricket, will be leading the spin attack.

Mustafizur will share the new ball with Robiul Islam, Muktar Ali and Subashis Roy. Muktar has snared just 12 wickets in seven first-class games, but he equaled the record for most sixes- 16- in a first-class innings during a whirlwind hundred last month.

While Robiul has been given more game time to recover from an injury, both Muktar and Mustafizur were picked ahead of four pace bowlers - Abu Jayed, Sajedul Islam, Shahadat Hossain and Mohammad Sharif - who have taken more than 20 wickets this season.

The three-match one-day series will be held from June 8, while the two T20s will be held on June 14 and 15. The team will be coached by Corey Richards, who resigned just four days ago. Since he will be serving a two-month notice period with the BCB, it was decided that he would be in charge for the West Indies tour.

Bangladesh A: Nasir Hossain (capt), Naeem Islam, Imrul Kayes, Shamsur Rahman, Mominul Haque, Marshall Ayub, Abdul Majid, Mustafizur Rahman, Nurul Hasan (wk), Sohag Gazi, Muktar Ali, Elias Sunny, Robiul Islam, Subashis Roy, Taijul Islam

West Indies: Sunil Ambris, Ronsford Beaton, Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Kraigg Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Sheldon Cottrell, Miguel Cummins, Assad Fudadin, Leon Johnson, Ashley Nurse, Chadwick Walton