Matches (18)
IPL (2)
ZIM v NAM (1)
BAN v SL (1)
County DIV1 (4)
County DIV2 (3)
4-Day Championship (3)
ENG v NZ (1)
SLCD-XI in ENG (1)
Uganda Women in Nepal (1)
Inter-Insular (1)

All you need to know about the maiden Indian Cricketers' Association polls

Former India batsmen Anshuman Gaekwad and Kirti Azad will contest for a spot on the BCCI's Apex Council

Nagraj Gollapudi
Anshuman Gaekwad (left) with Kapil Dev and Shanta Rangaswamy, Mumbai, August 16, 2019

Anshuman Gaekwad (left) with Kapil Dev and Shanta Rangaswamy  •  Annesha Ghosh/ESPNcricinfo

Between October 11 and 13, the Indian Cricketers' Association (ICA) will conduct its first election. The ICA became a reality in July this year after the BCCI recognised the body on the condition that it would only be for retired cricketers - men and women - and that it would be a non-profit organisation looking after the welfare of former players.
On Wednesday, the ICA released a final list of eligible members that can vote for the various positions. Here's a look at the elections and why they matter.
How will the members cast their votes?
Through e-voting.
When will the results be announced?
On October 15.
Why is the ICA election significant?
In addition to picking the office bearers, the ICA members will also elect three representatives who will be part of the two powerful decision-making bodies in the BCCI administration. As per the new BCCI constitution, one male and one female ICA representative will be part of the board's nine-member Apex Council, while one other ICA representative will be the part of the seven-member IPL Governing Council.
The Lodha Committee, the trigger for the BCCI's structural reforms, had recommended that having players on the two key committees would allow their interests to be represented and safeguarded.
According to the final electoral roll, former Delhi batsman Surinder Khanna will be the ICA representative on the IPL Governing Council as he was the sole nominee. Similarly, former India women captain Shanta Rangaswamy, who recently quit the ad-hoc Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) and stepped down as ICA director, will be the woman on the Apex Council, being the only nominee.
The key contest will be for the male ICA representative on the Apex Council, with three members in the fray. Former India opening batsman Anshuman Gaekwad and allrounder Kirti Azad will vie for the post alongside former Gujarat and Vidarbha allrounder Rakesh Dhurv.
What are the other positions up for grabs?
The ICA members will vote to elect a secretary and treasurer. Also, former India batsman Ashok Malhotra is set to take charge as the ICA president considering he is the sole nominee for the position.
How many ICA members are there in total?
The final electoral roll comprises 1207 members - 764 male and 443 female. The list includes names such as Kapil Dev, Anil Kumble, Rahul Dravid, Virender Sehwag, and former women's captain Shubhangi Kulkarni. Some of the notable names missing are Bishan Singh Bedi, Sachin Tendulkar and Sunil Gavaskar.

Nagraj Gollapudi is news editor at ESPNcricinfo