Michael Kasprowicz's return from injury lasted only nine balls in 2006-07 © Getty Images

Michael Kasprowicz has confirmed he will play on next season after a series of injuries allowed him to bowl only nine balls for Queensland in 2006-07. Kasprowicz was named on the Bulls' new list of contracted players, which also features a return for Aaron Nye and places for Greg Moller and Michael Buchanan.

Brendan Nash and Lachlan Stevens were axed from last year's line-up, while Shane Jurgensen has retired. Kasprowicz, 35, missed virtually the entire summer with back and groin problems and subsequently lost his Cricket Australia contract last month. However, he is keen to have an impact in his 19th season for Queensland.

"I guess I had cricket's equivalent of long-service leave last season, although not by choice, and so I'm very keen to get back playing and see where things take me,'' Kasprowicz said. "I've started training and hopefully I can have a good off-season and pre-season preparation."

The retention of Queensland's two leading wicket-takers of all time, Kasprowicz and Andy Bichel, 36, meant no new fast bowlers earned a place on the full contract list. The three additions to the squad all played for the Bulls last season.

Nye lost his contract a year ago but played a crucial role in Queensland's Ford Ranger Cup victory in February. In only his second game of the season, Nye removed David Hussey, Cameron White and Adam Crosthwaite with his part-time offspin to put the Bulls within reach of the title.

Buchanan, the son of Australia's former coach John Buchanan, played all but two of Queensland's one-day games last summer. He proved a valuable bit-part contributor, averaging 25 with the bat and was also used as an occasional medium-pace bowler.

Moller forced his way into the Pura Cup squad in February and despite failing to pass fifty in his three matches, he was preferred to Stevens as a top-order candidate. Murray Bragg and Ryan Le Loux did not have their rookie contracts renewed and were replaced by Worrin Williams and Wade Townsend.

Williams, 20, has played for the Australian Indigenous XI and is the first Imparja Cup player to earn a spot on Queensland's list. He is a right-arm fast bowler and claimed 27 wickets at 23.3 for his club, Beenleigh-Logan, last season. He also made his Queensland Academy of Sport debut in 2006-07, along with Townsend, 21, a left-hand top-order batsman.

Squad Andy Bichel, Ryan Broad, Michael Buchanan, Daniel Doran, Chris Hartley, Matthew Hayden (Cricket Australia contract), James Hopes (CA), Mitchell Johnson (CA), Michael Kasprowicz, Nick Kruger, Martin Love, Jimmy Maher, Greg Moller, Ashley Noffke, Aaron Nye, Clinton Perren, Craig Philipson, Nathan Rimmington, Chris Simpson, Grant Sullivan, Andrew Symonds (CA), Shane Watson (CA).

Rookies Ben Cutting, Nathan Reardon, Wade Townsend, Worrin Williams.