Mitchell Johnson's fine performances earned him a contract © Getty Images
Stuart Clark, Phil Jaques and Mitchell Johnson are the three new faces in the list of contracted national cricketers, a 25-member group that Cricket Australia announced today. They replaced James Hopes, Cameron White and Mick Lewis. Brett Dorey, who was also upgraded to a contract after selection for several VB Series matches last summer, has not been offered a full contract.

"Jaques, Clark and Johnson have all performed very well over the past 12 months and have been rewarded with contracts, while Hopes, Lewis, White and Dorey's contracts haven't been renewed on this occasion," said Andrew Hilditch, the chairman of the National Selection Panel (NSP). "However, they are quality players and we look forward to them performing well in domestic cricket and putting their name forward again for future selections."

The contracted players are paid a base retainer, which is levelled according to a player ranking system decided by the NSP. Each player also receives match fees, tour fees and prize money for on-field success.

List of contracted players Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark, Michael Clarke, Daniel Cullen Adam Gilchrist, Jason Gillespie, Brad Haddin, Matthew Hayden, Brad Hodge, Brad Hogg, Michael Hussey, Phil Jaques, Mitchell Johnson, Michael Kasprowicz, Simon Katich, Justin Langer, Brett Lee, Stuart MacGill, Damien Martyn, Glenn McGrath, Ricky Ponting, Andrew Symonds, Shaun Tait, Shane Warne, Shane Watson.