Former Test cricketers Richard Hadlee, Martin Snedden and Geoff Allott have been elected in the New Zealand Cricket board of directors. The three were among eight new directors voted in by delegates representing all Major Associations and District Associations in a general meeting in Auckland.
The other five members included in the new board of directors were Greg Barclay, Neil Craig, Liz Dawson, Stuart Heal and Don Mackinnon, all of whom have experience in sport and corporate administration and governance. Barclay, Heal and Mackinnon, who are also current NZC directors, were relected. The three former cricketers also have extensive experience in administration of the sport.
Heal, the current chair of the audit and financial risk committee, will act as interim chairman of the board till a permanent chairman is elected at the first board meeting on October 23.
The vote was an outcome of the new NZC constitution that was approved in July.