Hobart to host its first January Test

Australia will host a six-Test summer in 2009-10 after Cricket Australia released the schedules for the tours by West Indies and Pakistan

Cricinfo staff
Australia celebrate with the Frank Worrell Trophy, West Indies v Australia, 3rd Test, Barbados, 5th day, June 16, 2008

Australia will defend the Frank Worrell Trophy in Brisbane, Adelaide and Perth  •  Getty Images

Cricket Australia has confirmed 2009-10 will be a six-Test home summer for Ricky Ponting's men with Hobart set to host a Test in January for the first time. The international season kicks off with the first Test against West Indies at the Gabba on November 26 and the Test portion wraps up in with the third Test against Pakistan at Bellerive Oval beginning on January 14.
Following three-Test series against each side, Australia will host separate ODI tours for each country after the traditional tri-series was scrapped before the start of last summer. Each side will face Australia in five one-day internationals with Pakistan also playing one Twenty20 and West Indies two.
It will be a big summer for Bellerive Oval, which returns to Test duty having hosted only two five-day encounters over the past seven seasons, and is holding its first non-November Test in 20 years. The venue is also expected to have floodlights in place by the start of the summer and has been rewarded with its first Twenty20 international, against West Indies on February 21.
"The last time Australia played Pakistan in Hobart it was a thrilling encounter that saw a magnificent partnership between Justin Langer and Adam Gilchrist steer Australia to victory on the final day," James Sutherland, Cricket Australia's CEO, said. "It was a fine example of Test cricket.
"Hobart will also host their first KFC Twenty20 International against the West Indies in February and we expect to see a packed house at Bellerive. Twenty20 cricket continues to thrive and Tasmanian fans will be looking forward to their first taste of the format at international level."
As well as playing in Hobart, Pakistan will line up for the traditional Boxing Day Test in Melbourne and the New Year Test in Sydney, while West Indies play in Brisbane, Adelaide and Perth. The schedule means the former Queensland batsman and now West Indies player Brendan Nash is likely to enjoy a Test in front of what used to be his home crowd at the Gabba.
November 26-30: Australia v West Indies, Brisbane
December 4-8: Australia v West Indies, Adelaide
December 16-20: Australia v West Indies, Perth
December 26-30: Australia v Pakistan, Melbourne
January 3-7: Australia v Pakistan, Sydney
January 14-18: Australia v Pakistan, Hobart
CB Series ODIs
January 22: Australia v Pakistan, Brisbane
January 24: Australia v Pakistan, Sydney
January 26: Australia v Pakistan, Adelaide
January 29: Australia v Pakistan, Perth
January 31: Australia v Pakistan, Perth
Twenty20 international
February 5: Australia v Pakistan, Melbourne
CB Series ODIs
February 7: Australia v West Indies, Melbourne
February 9: Australia v West Indies, Adelaide
February 12: Australia v West Indies, Sydney
February 14: Australia v West Indies, Brisbane
February 19: Australia v West Indies, Melbourne
Twenty20 internationals
February 21: Australia v West Indies, Hobart
February 23: Australia v West Indies, Sydney