Matches (15)
IND in ENG (1)
WI v BDESH (2)
ENG v IND (1)
Papua New Guinea in Singapore (1)
NAM T20 (1)
Vitality Blast (9)
Match reports

India v Pakistan, 2012-13

Wisden's review of the first Twenty20 International, India v Pakistan, 2012-13

Dileep Premachandran
At Bangalore, December 25, 2012 (floodlit). Pakistan won by five wickets. Toss: Pakistan. Twenty20 international debuts: Bhuvneshwar Kumar; Mohammad Irfan.
At 77 without loss in the 11th over, India looked set for a huge total. Then Rahane lofted to deep extra cover, the first of nine wickets to fall for 47 in 46 balls. Apart from him and Gambhir - run out yet again, his 19th such dismissal in all internationals - no one else passed ten; Umar Gul bowled fast and straight, and Saeed Ajmal breached the defences of Dhoni and Raina.
The economical Bhuvneshwar Kumar took three wickets in his first two overs on debut to raise Indian hopes, only for Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik to add 106, a Pakistan fourth-wicket record in this format. But India struck twice to cause some panic, and there was drama when Malik, on 47, was caught off Ishant Sharma, only for the delivery to be ruled a no-ball on height. With tension mounting, Sharma and the non-striker Kamran Akmal became involved in a slanging match, which earned them both a fine. Pakistan were left needing ten from the final over, bowled by Jadeja, and the reprieved Malik sealed their first Twenty20 win over India, at the fourth attempt, with a nonchalant straight six.
Man of the Match: Mohammad Hafeez.