At Port Elizabeth, April 27, 2009 (floodlit). Mumbai Indians won by 92 runs. Toss: Mumbai Indians. Mumbai Indians 187-6 (20 overs) (S. T. Jayasuriya 52, S. R. Tendulkar 68; L. R. Shukla 3-25); Kolkata Knight Riders 95 (15.2 overs) (S. C. Ganguly 34; S. L. Malinga 3-11, A. M. Nayar 3-13). Mumbai Indians 2 pts. Man of the Match: S. R. Tendulkar.

Tendulkar and Jayasuriya led a furious assault on some toothless bowling: the hundred partnership came up in just 52 balls, and they eventually put on 127 in 12.2 overs, setting the platform for a formidable total. Kolkata's batting fizzled out miserably as Malinga and Abhishek Nayar made smart use of pace and length.