Matches (20)
SL vs WI [W] (1)
T20 World Cup (4)
WI Academy in IRE (1)
T20 Blast (14)

Moin named captain after Saeed relinquishes job

Karachi, March 13: Saeed Anwar became the second Pakistan captain to relinquish the captaincy in less than five weeks which puts Moin Khan as incharge of the team for the next four months of back-breaking cricket

Karachi, March 13: Saeed Anwar became the second Pakistan captain to relinquish the captaincy in less than five weeks which puts Moin Khan as incharge of the team for the next four months of back-breaking cricket.
The director of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), Yawar Saeed, told reporters that Saeed told about his decision on Monday afternoon.
"He said he wanted to step down because of health and pressure. But he is very keen to play and perform for the country," he said.
"Moin Khan has been appointed captain until July 13. Inzamam-ul-Haq will be the vice-captain," he added.
Pakistan will play six Tests and nearly 25 one-day internationals in Sharjah, West Indies, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.
Yawar also announced 18 probables for the Sharjah triangular series which included Saeed's name but missed Wasim Akram who is nursing a groin injury.
"Saeed underwent MRI on Monday. We will get the reports later in the day after which the selectors will decide if to retain him in the 15- man squad that will be short-listed on Tuesday.
"As far as Wasim Akram is concerned, he conveyed to the board that he needs at least 10 more days to regain complete fitness," Yawar Saeed said.
Saeed was appointed to lead Pakistan last month after Wasim Akram quit as captain following the disastrous tour of Australia where Pakistan lost six out of 10 one-day internationals after losing all the three Tests. Saeed was initially named skipper until July 13.
Saeed missed the third Test after a horrifying collision with umpire Nazir Junior in Peshawar left him with a bruised nose and sprained neck.
For Moin, it is the first time that he has been appointed captain for a full tour. He led Pakistan in a Test against Zimbabwe 16 months ago in Aamir Sohail's absence and is now leading after injury has sidelined Saeed Anwar. Moin has also skippered Pakistan in four oneday internationals, winning all.
"Naturally, it is a great honour. People dream to play for Pakistan but I am feeling out of his world to be awarded the prestigious job," Moin said later.
Moin said the expectations from the team were high and promised that his players would try to give their best. But he made no promises.
"One-day cricket is a funny sport. The match swings in one over. I don't guarantee overnight successes but promise that we will play the hardest cricket we can.
"The followers are not only disappointed with our performance but we are also concerned. I am confident that things would change quickly," he hoped.
Yawar Saeed said Moin, who had earlier declined to lead in the home series against Sri Lanka, had accepted the job when he was offered on Monday afternoon. He added that 18 probables were finalized after consulting him.
Earlier, the chairman of the PCB, Lt. Gen. Tauqir Zia, told reporters that the selectors had ignored Ijaz Ahmad for the one-day series in Sharjah and instead had picked uncapped Nomanullah and Imran Farhat in a 15-man squad.
But when Yawar Saeed announced the team, there were 18 players and no Nomanullah and Imran Farhat but included Ijaz Ahmad who was overlooked for the one-day series against Sri Lanka.
The general, when questioned on the exclusion of youngsters and recall of Ijaz Ahmad, said: "You ask the selectors why they have recalled Ijaz. I am not against any player but I am not the right person to answer."
The selectors ignored three youngsters - Imran Abbas, Yasir Arafat and Faisal Iqbal - who made their debut against Sri Lanka in the onedayers.
While the selectors have picked five openers, there are just four middle-order batsmen in the list. Need not to mention that it is the middle-order which is struggling at the moment.
The 18 probables are:
Moin Khan (captain), Inzamam-ul-Haq (vice-captain), Saeed Anwar, Wajahatullah Wasti, Shahid Afridi, Imran Nazir, Mohammad Naveed Qureshi, Ijaz Ahmad, Younis Khan, Yousuf Youhana, Waqar Younis, Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Nazir, Irfan Fazil, Mohammad Akram, Abdur Razzaq, Arshad Khan and Shoaib Malik.