Marcus North has starred in South Africa and is an all-star in Australia © Getty Images

Marcus North's strong end to the season has continued with him being named captain of the Australian Cricketers' Association's Sheffield Shield and FR Cup teams of the year. North, who scored a century on Test debut in South Africa, was the overwhelming choice as leader in the outfits that were voted on by 110 of the country's national, state and rookie contracted players.

Callum Ferguson, the Australia one-day international, and his South Australia team-mate Graham Manou were picked in the Shield, FR Cup and Twenty20 teams of the year along with Queensland's Lee Carseldine. Manou, a leading contender as Brad Haddin's understudy, was named vice-captain for each outfit.

Michael Klinger, the South Australia batsman, collected 89% of votes for the Shield team after a summer of 1203 runs while Shane Harwood led the FR Cup field with 86%. Dirk Nannes was rated on top with 84% in the Twenty20.

Players in the survey were unable to vote for team-mates and were asked to nominate six batsmen, a wicketkeeper and four bowlers. The sides were named at the state cricket awards as part of the lead-up to Friday's Shield final between Queensland and Victoria.

ACA Sheffield Shield Team of the Year Phillip Hughes (NSW), Chris Rogers (Vic), Michael Klinger (SA), Lee Carseldine (Qld), Callum Ferguson (SA), Marcus North (WA, capt), Graham Manou (SA, wk), Brett Geeves (Tas), Steve Magoffin (WA), Brett Dorey (WA), Dirk Nannes (Vic), Ryan Harris (Qld, 12th man).

FR Cup Team Michael Klinger (SA), David Warner (NSW), Lee Carseldine (Qld), Callum Ferguson (SA), Travis Birt (Tas), Marcus North (WA, capt), Graham Manou (SA, wk), Aaron Heal (WA), Brett Geeves (Tas), Shane Harwood (Vic), Ben Laughlin (Qld), Chris Rogers (Vic, 12th man).

Twenty20 Team Brad Hodge (Vic, capt), Daniel Harris (SA), Lee Carseldine (Qld), David Hussey (Vic), Nathan Reardon (Qld), Callum Ferguson (SA), Graham Manou (SA, wk), Jason Krejza (Tas), Shane Harwood (Vic), Umar Gul (WA), Dirk Nannes (Vic), Rhett Lockyear (Tas, 12th man).