Devon Conway, Will Young and Daryl Mitchell earn first New Zealand ODI call-ups

The trio are part of a 13-man squad to face Bangladesh which will be captained by Tom Latham

Devon Conway continued his fine run of form, New Zealand vs Australia, 1st T20I, Christchurch, February 22, 2021

Devon Conway is in line for his ODI debut after T20I success this season  •  Getty Images

Devon Conway, Will Young and Daryl Mitchell have earned their first ODI call-ups as part of New Zealand's 13-man squad for the three-match series against Bangladesh this month.
With Kane Williamson ruled out due to an elbow injury, there is a vacancy in the top order which will open the door for either Conway - who has enjoyed a superb start to his T20I career - or Young to slot in. Tom Latham will captain the side in Williamson's absence.
New Zealand have not played ODIs for a year - their last match was behind closed doors in Sydney last March before the tour was aborted due to Covid-19 - and they have only had four 50-over matches since the 2019 World Cup final.
"It's certainly been a while since we've played ODI cricket, with just four games since the 2019 Cricket World Cup campaign," selector Gavin Larsen said. "We're now in a new World Cup cycle and our attention has turned to building towards the 2023 tournament in India.
"This series is a great opportunity to begin laying those foundations and formulating the type of team and game-plan we think can continue our impressive run in this format. Devon, Will and Daryl are quality players and have enjoyed impressive seasons so far, and we're looking forward to giving them further opportunities to develop their game at this level. Whilst it's disappointing to lose a player of Kane's class, Tom has proven experience in taking the reins and I know he's excited to lead the side."
Young, 28, made his Test debut against West Indies in December having long waited for his opportunity. Ahead of the 2019 World Cup, he scored two centuries against the Australians during warm-up matches in Brisbane but then underwent shoulder surgery.
Mitchell, who scored his maiden Test century earlier this season, will compete for one of the allrounder positions.
Neither Lockie Ferguson (back) nor Colin de Grandhomme (ankle) was considered for the squad although it is hoped Ferguson will be able to return for the T20Is. Legspinner Ish Sodhi, who was Player of the Series in the T20Is against Australia, did not find a spot in this squad.
"The bowling group is a strong and experienced one and will be well complemented by the two seam-bowling allrounders in Jimmy [Neesham] and Daryl," Larsen said. "We've also taken the decision to carry just the one spinner in the squad, which is a reflection of the venues for this series and expected pitch conditions."
It is expected that some of the New Zealand players with IPL deals will sit out the T20I series.
Squad: Tom Latham (capt & wk), Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Will Young