The following are the summary of results from the seventh day of the Ranji Trophy one-day tournament

Ajinkya Rahane: slamming his way into the record books © (file photo) Cricinfo Ltd

West Zone

Ajinkya Rahane and Amol Muzumdar helped Mumbai regain the Vijay Hazare Trophy for West Zone Ranji one-dayers, leading them to a thumping 216-run win over Maharashtra at the PYC Hindu Gymkhana in Pune.

Rahane smashed 187, the highest individual score in a zonal one-day competition, in a furious innings that included 17 fours and eight sixes. Muzumdar, the captain, returned from injury to crack a 70-ball 101 as Mumbai ran up a record 398 for 3. The previous record was Bengal's 397 for 5 against Assam in Jamshedpur in 2004. Maharashtra didn't have much of a chance from that point, falling to 182 in 28.1 overs.

After the match Mumbai were to get good news from the Deccan Gymkhana, where Saurashtra beat Baroda by a bonus point. It ensured that the title stayed in Mumbai for the second year running.

Saurashtra upset the form book with a convincing triumph. Ketan Panchal's fighting hundred kept Baroda in the contest, taking them to 241, but a rollicking 167-run partnership between Sagar Jogiyani and Jaydev Shah allowed Saurashtra to reach the target as early as the 40th over.

South Zone

Deepak Chougule's unbeaten 111 helped defending champions Karnataka regain the South Zone one-day tournament for the Subbiah Pillai Trophy with a five-wicket win over Tamil Nadu at the Guru Nanak College grounds in Chennai.

Chougule was not in the original squad for tournament but a shoulder injury to KB Pawan allowed him to be drafted in. Earlier, left-handed opener R Ramkumar and his 138-run fourth-wicket stand with Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan helped TN to 289.

At the MRF Pachyappas Ground, Sagun Kamat (92) and Saurabh Bandekar (101) shared an unbeaten 194-run stand to upstage Kerala's total of 200. The pair helped Goa reach the target in just 33.3 overs.

A century from wicketkeeper Abhinav Kumar propelled Hyderabad to 259 before Andhra collapsed for 164 at the Central Polytechnic India Pistons Ground in Chennai. Neither team, though, will make it to the all-India knock-out tournament for the Premier Cup in Visakhapatnam from April 2 to 12.

North Zone

A six-wicket haul by Vishal Bhatia helped Himachal Pradesh sink Jammu and Kashmir by 104 runs at the Harbax Singh Stadium in Delhi. Bhatia, the left-arm spinner, finished with figures of 6 for 15, cutting through the lower order as J & K crashed to 108 in pursuit of 213. Earlier, Hinachal were propped by Paras Dogra's 77. Dogra held the innings together till the 41st over, before the lower order chipped in to push the score above 200.

At the Model Sports Complex , Punjab coasted to a comprehensive nine-wicket win against Services. Sunny Sohal and the in-form Karan Goel made light work of the modest target of 153 with an opening stand of 128. Sohal made 56 while Goel remained unbeaten on 79. Earlier, Soomik Chaterjee top scored for Services with 45 in an otherwise meek performance.

Haryana surprised the Ranji Trophy champions, Delhi, on their home turf, with a 26-run win at the Feroz Shah Kotla . Batting first, Haryana were helped by half centuries by Sunny Singh and Kamal Benwal before the lower order pushed the score to a match-winning 258. Amit Bhandari, who took 2 for 48, passed the milestone of 150 one-day wickets. Delhi were jolted early in their chase at 57 for 4 and were out of the contest when their captain Mithun Manhas fell for a breezy 57 off 61 balls. At that stage, they were 139 for 6 and a last-ditch half-century by Chetanya Nanda wasn't enough as Delhi managed 232 for 9.

East Zone

At the North East Frontier Railway Stadium in Guwahati, Jharkhand bagged a three-wicket win against Assam in a low-scoring encounter. Ishank Jaggi scored a patient 58 off 104 balls as Jharkhand chased the target of 162 with two overs to spare. Earlier, S Sharath top scored for Assam with 54 off 91 balls.

At the Nehru Stadium, Anustup Majumdar and Priyankar Mukherjee starred with bat and ball respectively to help Bengal comprehensively beat Orissa by 80 runs. Majumdar, who top scored with 101, and captain Laxmi Rattan Shukla (53) added 140 for the third wicket to lift Bengal to 269. SS Das and Sameer Mohanty led an aggressive reply, going at over seven runs an over. By the time Das was dismissed for 85, Orissa were comfortably placed at 173 for 4 before the 30th over. However, a spectacular batting collapse followed as Reresh Saxena, the left-arm spinner and Mukherjee, the offspinner, shared eight wickets between them to sink Orissa for 189. Mukherjee finished with figures of 5 for 26.

Click here for the full list of scorecards