Indian batsman Rohit Sharma has been fined 15% of his match fee for showing dissent at the umpire's decision while batting during the Super Eights match against West Indies at the Kensington Oval on Sunday.

Rohit was on five when he tried to paddle sweep Kieron Pollard. The ball lobbed up to the wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin, who claimed the catch and the appeal was upheld by the umpire Billy Bowden. However, Rohit initially refused to leave as he gestured to the umpire that the ball lobbed off his arm. Bowden walked across to the square leg umpire Simon Taufel but the umpires obviously couldn't refer it to the third umpire because the argument was not about whether the catch was taken cleanly or not.

Jeff Crowe, the ICC match referee, found Rohit guilty of a Level 1 offense and the batsman pleaded guilty.