Matches (15)
IND in ENG (1)
WI v BDESH (2)
ENG v IND (1)
Papua New Guinea in Singapore (1)
NAM T20 (1)
Vitality Blast (9)
Stats Analysis

The second-highest partnership in first-class cricket

Stats highlights from a mammoth stand for Maharashtra in the Ranji Trophy 2016-17

Bharath Seervi

ESPNcricinfo Ltd

2 The unbroken 594-run stand between Swapnil Gugale and Ankit Bawne in this match is the second-biggest partnership in the history of first-class cricket. Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene had added 624 runs against South Africa in a Test in Colombo in 2006. Click here for highest partnerships in first-class cricket.
577 The previous biggest stand in the Ranji Trophy, between Vijay Hazare and Gul Mohammad for Baroda versus Holkar in the final of 1946-47. Gugale and Bawne's stand is only the fourth in excess of 500 runs in Ranji Trophy history.
6 Higher scores in Ranji Trophy than Gugale's unbeaten 351 runs. The only higher score by a Maharashtra batsman is 443 not out by BB Nimbalkar, which is the only quadruple century in Ranji cricket. The only two higher scores by captains in the tournament than this knock from Gugale are Sanjay Manjrekar's 377 and Vijay Merchant's 359 not out. Click here for the highest individual scores in first-class cricket.
Highest individual scores in Ranji Trophy (350 or more)
Batsman Runs Team Against Venue Season
 BB Nimbalkar  443*  Maharashtra  Kathiawar  Pune  1948-49
 SV Manjrekar  377  Bombay  Hyderabad  Mumbai (W)  1990-91
 MV Sridhar  366  Hyderabad  Andhra  Secunderabad  1993-94
 VM Merchant  359*  Bombay  Maharashtra  Mumbai (BS)  1943-44
 VVS Laxman  353  Hyderabad  Karnataka  Bangalore  1999-00
 CA Pujara  352  Saurashtra  Karnataka  Rajkot  2012-13
 SM Gugale  351*  Maharashtra  Delhi  Mumbai (W)  2015-16
4 Instances of two batsmen scoring 250 or more in the same innings in the Ranji Trophy; Gugale and Bawne's is the fourth. The last such occasion was Saurashtra against Gujarat in 2012-13, when Ravindra Jadeja made an unbeaten 303 and Sagar Jogiyani 282.
Two batsmen scoring 250-plus in the same innings in Ranji Trophy
Batsman 1 Batsman 2 Team Against Venue Season
 Gul Mohammad (319)  VS Hazare (288)  Baroda  Holkar  Baroda  1946-47
 WV Raman (313)  A Kripal Singh (302*)  Tamil Nadu  Goa  Panaji  1988-89
 RA Jadeja (303*)  SD Jogiyani (282)  Saurashtra  Gujarat  Surat  2012-13
 SM Gugale (351*)  AR Bawne (258*)  Maharashtra  Delhi  Mumbai (W)  2016-17
635/2 Maharashtra's total - the fourth-highest in first-class matches where teams have lost two or fewer wickets. The highest total in this bracket is the West Indians' 682 for 2 against Leicestershire in 1950.
455 The previous highest partnership for any wicket for Maharashtra in the Ranji Trophy - between BB Nimbalkar and Kamal Bhandarkar against Kathiawar at Pune Club Ground in 1948-49.
53.88 Bawne's average for Maharashtra in first-class matches - the best by any player for Maharashtra since his debut in 2007. He has made 12 centuries for Maharashtra, which is also the joint-most by any batsman for them since his debut. Kedar Jadhav has also made 12 centuries in this period. This innings of 258 not out is Bawne's first double-century of his first-class career.
3 Centuries for Gugale in his first-class career of 18 matches, including this one. All the three centuries have been of more than 150 runs. His previous two centuries were 174 and 154. He has aggregated 679 runs from the three innings where he scored a century; in his 27 other innings, he has 695 runs with five fifties.
7 Captains to score triple-centuries in the Ranji Trophy. Gugale became the seventh captain to achieve this. The last captain to score a triple-hundred in Ranji Trophy was Haryana's Sunny Singh who made 312 against Madhya Pradesh in Indore in 2009-10. Three of the seven triple-centuries by captains in the tournament have been at the Wankhede Stadium.
0 Triple-centuries against Delhi prior to Gugale's in this match. The highest score versus Delhi was 297 by Punjab's Bhupinder Singh at the Feroz Shah Kotla in 1994-95. Bawne's 258 not out also features at number six in highest individual scores against Delhi.

Bharath Seervi is stats sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo. @SeerviBharath