The Hundred: Eoin Morgan, Heather Knight retained as London Spirit captains

World Cup-winning captains will keep their respective roles at Lord's-based team

Heather Knight and Eoin Morgan will lead London Spirit's women's and men's sides respectively

Heather Knight and Eoin Morgan will lead London Spirit's women's and men's sides respectively  •  Getty Images

Heather Knight and Eoin Morgan, England's World Cup-winning captains in 2017 and 2019 respectively, have been retained by London Spirit ahead of the Hundred's postponed launch next summer and will captain their respective sides.
The eight men's teams in the ECB's new 100-ball competition have until January to negotiate with players they wish to retain from the squad they selected in October 2019, while in the women's tournament, players can opt to roll their contracts over to 2021 or negotiate with other teams if they wish to do so.
Knight and Morgan were originally announced as the Lord's-based team's captains in December, and will keep their roles following the Hundred's postponement.
Knight will link up with her former Western Storm and current Sydney Thunder coach Trevor Griffin during the competition, while Morgan's side will be coached by Shane Warne.
"It is a real honour to be retained as skipper for next year," Knight said. "We are beginning to build an exciting side and hopefully we can make a real impact on the pitch."
"I am delighted to be retained as captain of London Spirit," Morgan said. "We have the makings of a great squad and I'm looking forward to playing at the Home of Cricket in this exciting new format. I believe we will have a great blend of skills both in the squad and our coaching staff and I can't wait to get going."
With the signings of Zak Crawley and Deandra Dottin already confirmed, the Spirit have also announced that Dan Lawrence and Naomi Dattani have been retained ahead of 2021.
Dattani, who played under Knight at Western Storm in the Kia Super League, signed a contract with Sunrisers, the London and East regional team in the new domestic women's structure, earlier this year.
Lawrence, meanwhile, initially signed as a 'local icon' ahead of the 2019 draft, and said he was "thrilled" to have been retained.
London Spirit 2021 squads so far:
Men's: Eoin Morgan (captain), Zak Crawley, Dan Lawrence
Women's: Heather Knight (captain), Naomi Dattani, Deandra Dottin