Group B

Two wickets each from medium-pacer Navdeep Saini and left-arm spinners Manan Sharma and Varun Sood gave Delhi the upper hand in their first-round match as they restricted Assam to 132 for 6 on the first day in Vadodara.

Only two Assam batsmen scored more than 30 - opener Rahul Hazarika struck 37, while Tarjinder Singh was unbeaten at stumps on 31. Assam suffered due to a lack of partnerships, and crumbled from a promising 62 for 1 in the 35th over to 65 for 4 in the 40th with Sood and Saini doing most of the damage during this period.

A four-for from captain Varun Aaron helped Jharkhand bowl Maharashtra out for 210 in Delhi. In reply, Jharkhand finished the day at 33 for 2, having lost their openers to seamer Anupam Sanklecha.

Aaron, along with medium-pacer Ajay Yadav, cut through Maharashtra's top order leaving them at 31 for 3 in the 13th over. Kedar Jadhav (59) and Ankit Bawne (78) rallied through a 102-run partnership for the fourth wicket. After Jadhav was dismissed, Bawne stitched another half-century stand with Ravi Tripathi, but Maharashtra lost their last six wickets for only 22 runs. Aaron finished with 4 for 47, while seamer Ashish Kumar had 3 for 32, including the wicket of Bawne.

Sanklecha then had Ishan Kishan caught behind in the second over, before dismissing Shiv Gautam in the eighth over. Saurabh Tiwary was unbeaten on 9.

Biplab Samantray's 53 not out held Odisha's shaky first innings together against Vidarbha in Visakhapatnam. Odisha finished the day on 134 for 6 in 70 overs with No. 8 Deepak Behera keeping Samantray company.

The first breakthrough for Vidarbha, after Odisha chose to bat, came through spin. Left-arm spinner Aditya Sarwate dismissed Ranjit Singh before Shrikant Wagh and Akshay Wakhare struck three times in the space of six overs to leave Odisha at 49 for 4 in the 24th over. Samantray and Subhranshu Senapati added 59 for the fifth wicket but a couple of late dismissals left Odisha on the back foot.

Saurashtra captain Jaydev Shah's unbeaten 120 helped the side recover from 30 for 3 to 269 for 5 at stumps against Rajasthan in Vizianagaram. Shah was ably supported by Sheldon Jackson, who scored 76 and shared in a 119-run partnership for the fourth wicket.

The pair came together in the 10th over of the match, after Rajasthan's seamers Pankaj Singh, Nathu Singh and Aniket Choudhary had struck early. Both batsmen scored at a brisk rate. Jackson's 76 came off 95 balls and included 10 fours and two sixes, while Shah scored 120 off 141 balls with 23 fours.

Once Jackson fell, Shah kept Saurashtra steady with a 79-run partnership Samarth Vyas and steered the side past 250 in the company of Chirag Jani who was unbeaten on 13.