Victoria have handed contracts to allrounder Ian Holland and batsman Travis Dean for the 2015-16 season. Fast bowlers Louis Cameron and Jake Haberfield have been cut from last year's list, as has the allrounder Alex Keath, while batsman David Hussey is also gone from the playing group after last month announcing his retirement from the Bushrangers.

The state also had to find room for fast bowler Peter Siddle, who lost his Cricket Australia contract this year. Wicketkeeper-batsman Sam Harper has been given a rookie deal. The inclusion of Holland comes after a remarkable season in which he became the first person to win the Jack Ryder Medal as the best player in Melbourne's premier cricket, and the John Scholes Medal as best player in the final.

Holland was part of Victoria's rookie group from 2012 to 2014 and also won the Cricket Superstar reality television show in 2012. Victoria's chairman of selectors, Andrew Lynch, said Holland had earned his promotion to a full contract.

"Holland was unlucky to be delisted a couple of years ago but we told him what he needed to do to get back in the squad and he has done that by improving both his batting and his bowling," Lynch said.

Dean's inclusion on a two-year contract comes after a summer in which he was the fourth-highest run scorer in premier cricket. "We have been keeping an eye on Dean ever since he played for Victoria in under-19s and he has really come on in the last couple of years," Lynch said. "We think he can be part of our top order in the future."

Victoria squad Fawad Ahmed, Scott Boland, Daniel Christian, Travis Dean, Aaron Finch (Cricket Australia contract), Peter Handscomb, John Hastings, Ian Holland, Jon Holland, Glenn Maxwell (CA), Clint McKay, James Muirhead, James Pattinson (CA), Rob Quiney, Jake Reed, Chris Rogers (CA), Peter Siddle, Ryan Sidebottom, Marcus Stoinis, Chris Tremain, Matthew Wade, Cameron White. Rookies Ben Ashkenazi, Aaron Ayre, Seb Gotch, Sam Harper, Matt Short, Guy Walker.