Stats Analysis

Stats - Prithvi Shaw and Devdutt Padikkal create new benchmarks

All the statistical highlights from the 2020-21 Vijay Hazare Trophy

Plenty of batting records were broken during the 2020-21 Vijay Hazare Trophy  •  ESPNcricinfo Ltd

Plenty of batting records were broken during the 2020-21 Vijay Hazare Trophy  •  ESPNcricinfo Ltd

827 Runs scored by Prithvi Shaw, the first player to breach the 800-run mark in a Vijay Hazare Trophy season. Devdutt Padikkal, with 737 runs, finished second, as both youngsters broke the record held by Mayank Agarwal with 723 runs in the 2017-18 season. Shaw's tally of 827 runs is also the highest in a List A tournament played outside England.
3 150-plus scores by Shaw in the tournament. He became the first player in the history of List A cricket to make three 150-plus scores in a single series or tournament. Shaw scored 227*, 185* and 165, and did so in his first three matches as a captain in List A cricket. The Mumbai skipper now shares the record for most 150-plus List A scores as a captain alongside James Vince and Aaron Finch.
2 Players with four consecutive centuries in List A cricket before Padikkal. The Karnataka opener smashed 152, 126*, 145* and 101 in successive innings to join the elite list, featuring Kumar Sangakkara (for Sri Lanka during the 2015 World Cup) and Alviro Petersen (for the Lions in the 2015-16 Momentum One-Day Cup).
Padikkal is also one of only three players to score four centuries in a Vijay Hazare Trophy season. Virat Kohli made four tons during the 2008-09 season, while Shaw also struck four hundreds in Mumbai's victorious campaign.
227* Shaw's score in the group-stage game against Puducherry was the highest individual score in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, going past Sanju Samson's 212* against Goa in 2019-20. Shaw also broke the record for highest List A score as a captain, previously held by Graeme Pollock, who made 222* for Eastern Province against Border in 1974-75.
The record double century from Shaw helped Mumbai finish on 457 for 4, the fourth-highest team total in List A cricket and the first-ever 450-plus total on Indian soil in this format.
945 Partnership runs between Padikkal and R Samarth in the tournament, easily the most by any pair in an edition of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. They are also the only duo with over 900 partnership runs in a List A tournament in the last 15 years.
The Karnataka pair added 534 consecutive runs between two dismissals thanks to a 249-run partnership against Kerala in the quarter-finals after the unbroken 285 they added against Railways, the second-biggest stand in a 10-wicket List A victory. However, they fell a run short of becoming just the second opening pair in List A cricket with two 250-plus partnerships after Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly.
0 150-plus scores in Vijay Hazare Trophy finals before Madhav Kaushik's unbeaten 158 against Mumbai. Kaushik's 158* is also the highest score by an Indian in a List A final, surpassing M Vijay's 155 for India B in the 2012 NKP Salve Challenger Trophy against India A. Earlier in the quarters, Samarth made 192 against Kerala, now the highest score by an Indian in a List A knockout game.
7 Number of catches by Ishan Kishan behind the stumps in Jharkhand's game against Madhya Pradesh, the joint-most catches by an Indian in a List A match. Mahesh Rawat also claimed seven catches for Railways in 2012 against Madhya Pradesh. Earlier in the same game, Ishan smashed 173 with the bat. The keeper-captain is currently the only player with 150-plus runs and seven or more dismissals/wickets in the same List A match.
4 Vijay Hazare Trophy titles for Mumbai including the two (2003-04 and 2006-07) when the competition referred to as the Ranji One-Day Trophy. Only Tamil Nadu (5) have more such titles than Mumbai, while Karnataka have also won the competition four times. No team had successfully chased a 250-plus target in a Vijay Hazare Trophy final before Mumbai's 313-run chase against Uttar Pradesh.

Sampath Bandarupalli is a statistician at ESPNcricinfo