Matches (18)
SA Tri-Series (1)
SA20 (3)
ILT20 (2)
BBL (1)
Ranji Trophy (4)
ENG-L in SL (1)
WI 4-Day (3)
Super Smash (1)
BPL 2023 (2)

Wayamba to meet Kandurta in the final

A round-up from the latest Inter-Provincial one-day matches

Sa'adi Thawfeeq
The final of Sri Lanka's Inter-Provincial Limited-Overs Tournament will be a repeat of the last qualifying match between Kandurata and Wayamba after the final day of the qualifying stage was affected by bad weather.
At the Welagedera Stadium, in a match reduced to 31 overs, table-leaders Kandurata, captained by Kumar Sangakkara, beat Wayamba by eight wickets to finish with a 100% record in the qualifying round.
However, despite the defeat, Wayamba, who were captained by Mahela Jayawardene, were tied on 10 points with Basnahira North and went through to the final on superior net run rate.
For Kandurate, only Jehan Mubarak, the tall Sri Lanka left-handed middle-order batsman, got into double figures after they were asked to bat first in seamers-friendly condition and were eventually bowled out for for 79 in only 21 overs. Mubarak, pushing for a place in the Sri Lanka side for the ODI series in Australia, top-scored with 36 with extras taking the second spot (10). The damage to the Wayamba batting was done by the fast bowlers; Akalanka Ganegama, Kaushal Weeraratne, Thilan Thushara and Chintaka Jayasinghe who captured all ten wickets to fall.
Faced with the target of only 80 in 31 overs, Kandurata knocked the runs off in 19 overs to move into the final on Sunday with a great deal of confidence.
The bottom of the table clash between Basnahira South and Ruhuna at the Galle International Stadium ended without a ball bowled due to rain.
Team Mat Won Lost TiedN/R Pts Net RR For Against
Kandurata 4 4 0 0 018 +1.778 931/164.2 692/178.0
Wayamba 4 2 2 0 0 10+0.087 673/153.0 608/141.0
Basnahira North 42 2 0 0 10 -0.194680/164.2 771/178.0
Basnahira South 4 12 0 1 7 -0.750 572/128.0701/134.2
Ruhuna 4 0 30 1 2 -1.694 444/119.0 528/97.2