Bangladesh tour of West Indies 2009 June 13, 2009

Bangladesh name provisional squad for WI tour

Cricinfo staff

Bangladesh have announced their provisional squad for the tour of West Indies scheduled for the start of July. Most of the players who featured in the World Twenty20 squad are included in the list of 20. The only exception is wicketkeeper Mithun Ali, who has been left out. However, there are six new additions of which five have Test experience. Mehrab Hossain jnr, Imrul Kayes, Mahbubul Alam and Enamul Haque jnr and Nazmul Hossain rejoin the squad, while Shahagir Hossain remains the sole fresh face. The training session for the squad begins on 14 June at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium in Mirpur. The final squad then heads to West Indies for a tour comprising of two Tests, five ODIs and a Twenty20 international.

In the absence of Jamie Siddons, who is on leave, Khaled Mahmud, who coaches the Bangladesh A team, will oversee the training camp.

Bangladesh provisional squad: Mohammad Ashraful, Mashrafe Mortaza, Tamim Iqbal, Junaid Siddique, Raqibul Hasan, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Naeem Islam, Abdur Razzak, Shahadat Hossain, Syed Rasel, Mahmudullah, Rubel Hossain, Shamsur Rahman, Mehrab Hossain jnr, Imrul Kayes, Nazmul Hossain, Mahbubul Alam, Enamul Haque jnr, Shahagir Hossain