Bangladesh news December 24, 2012

Bangladesh gets new four-day competition


A new four-day cricket tournament called the Bangladesh Cricket League will kick off on December 27. The franchise-based tournament will be played between four teams, split by regions.

Walton Central Zone, comprising players only from Dhaka Division and Dhaka Metro, Prime Bank South Zone (Khulna Division and Barisal Division), Islami Bank East Zone (Sylhet Division and Chittagong Division) and BCB North Zone (Rangpur Division and Rajshahi Division) will take part in the competition. Three of the four teams have been bought by companies but the fourth, North Zone, will be run by the BCB because it had no takers.

The BCB has not yet initiated the process of obtaining first-class status for the BCL. The National Cricket League (NCL) still remains the country's only first-class competition.

The national selectors have picked 80 cricketers for the franchises to choose from, specifically from their regions. The tournament will be held at two venues, Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur and the Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogra, and will run till January 11. The rest of the tournament will be completed after the BPL.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Tim on December 25, 2012, 13:20 GMT

    From the outside looking in, whether franchises are the way to for First Class cricket is an interesting question. But good on the BCB for restructuring the First Class scene. Four teams should provide for all games being high quality, and the main things Bangladesh need are high quality FIrst Class cricket domestically and regular Test matches for the national team. With boards everywhere focussing so heavily on junk cricket, its good to see at least one board is also looking at what can be done in the true form of the game.

  • Shipu on December 25, 2012, 13:07 GMT

    @Sinhaya-2:-Yes imminent for Sri Lanka a declining team v a rising team :P

  • Dummy4 on December 24, 2012, 23:36 GMT

    Keep going...need more competitive first class matches with good pitches.. BCB should focus on our TEST cricket that is the way to go in right direction....without performing in TEST level we can not convince world cricket that we can be a major power in world cricket. Please do not blame players..we have everything just need to focus on right areas...this BPL, DPL can only bring money, power but quality lies their...see INDIA they are struggling after successful addition of IPL ..

  • Abdur on December 24, 2012, 21:19 GMT

    Christmas holidays are cold wet and boring so far, I hope these matches are broadcasted so I can be entertained for a long duration happy holidays everyone have a good one.

  • Chris on December 24, 2012, 20:59 GMT

    I like the way Bangladesh Cricket as a whole is going, future looks fantastic. We can already see critics of Bangladesh scared.

  • Sami on December 24, 2012, 19:38 GMT

    Our original one NCL is just of poor quality I mean they use fast bowlers for like 15-20 overs in the game and the rest if spin. I hope this one really goes well but I pretty much doubt it knowing how much these people behind BCB are disinterested in Test Cricket.

  • Dummy4 on December 24, 2012, 17:51 GMT

    very good for bd cricket

  • Jonny on December 24, 2012, 17:16 GMT

    I heard these will be day/night games and pink ball will be used. Test matches can now be played in night now can they? so this is a good test to see will it actually work.

  • narbavi on December 24, 2012, 15:53 GMT

    @TheRisingTeam: Well whitewash is imminent, and with the positive energy of my brother sinhaya, we will rise on top

  • Shipu on December 24, 2012, 14:44 GMT

    @Sinhaya-2:- I'm aware of that under-19 Asia Cup earlier in the year but you're forgetting that those matches didn't count as list A and a lot of our young players in that tournament i.e. Anamul Haque were missing. But lets not be premature and predict our series like that because no one knows the outcome. Sri Lanka are favourites but just don't underestimate Bangladesh. Infact, I dare your team to not use the experience Sri Lanka trio so we can see which team is going up and down in the years ahead. The only decent young players of Sri Lanka I have seen so far are Chandimal and Matthews but the rest don't look that promising.

  • No featured comments at the moment.