World Cricket League Americas Division February 7, 2010

Bahamas take Division 2 crown despite loss

Suriname 187 for 7 (Ramjohn 40, Baker 30, Seeraj 30) beat Bahamas 186 for 9 (Tappin 63, Weakley 36, Ramjohn 3-21) by three wickets

Suriname 187 for 7 (Ramjohn 40, Baker 30, Seeraj 30) beat Bahamas 186 for 9 (Tappin 63, Weakley 36, Ramjohn 3-21) by three wickets

Panama 184 for 3 (Bhakta 54, Tarajia 50, Chohan 45) beat Turks & Caicos Islands 179 (Caesar 65, Ash 52, Tarajia 5-39) by five runs

The Bahamas captured the ICC Americas Division 2 title despite losing a thriller against Suriname on Saturday. Winning the toss, Suriname elected to field in a match reduced to 35 overs due to a wet ground. Bahamas started nervously, with memories of the previous Division 2 event, and crumbled to 19 for 4 after eight overs.

However, a 71-run fifth wicket stand between Ryan Tappin and Jon Barry (33), got the hosts back on track and helped them finish on 186 for 9.

Suriname lost an early wicket during their chase but steady contributions down the order meant the visitors overhauled the target with nine balls to spare.

It was the second instance when Suriname defeated Bahamas in the final game of a tournament. However, this time, Bahamas had a net run-rate that secured the title and promotion for the Division 1 tournament in Bermuda later this year.

In the second game at Windsor Park, Panama easily won over the Turks and Caicos Islands. Panama's skipper Irfan Tarajia capped off a brilliant tournament with an all-round effort. He captured 5 for 39 and then scored a classic 50 which included five fours and four sixes.

His efforts earned him the Man-of-the-Match award as Panama reached their target with seven wickets intact. For the Turks and Caicos, Rohan Ash and captain Ebbion Caesar led the way in getting them to 193 all out in the 39th over. During the reply, Tarajia was supported by Soyab Chohan and Nilesh Bhakta.

The Bahamas Cricket Association held a wonderful closing ceremony and presentation night for the visiting teams. Brazil, who finished last, had the honour of capturing three of the four individual awards. Bahamas will be promoted to the Division 1 tournament scheduled for Bermuda in May-June, while Brazil will be demoted to Division 3 and will to try to re-qualify for Division 2 next year.