West Indies news June 6, 2013

Caribbean Premier League squads finalised

ESPNcricinfo staff

The Caribbean Premier League draft was held in Jamaica on June 5, with squads of 15 finalised for each of the six participating franchises.

Marlon Samuels has been named a franchise player for Antigua and Barbuda, Kieron Pollard for Barbados, Sunil Narine for Guyana, Chris Gayle for Jamaica, Darren Sammy for St Lucia, and Dwayne Bravo for Trinidad & Tobago. The West Indies franchise players, who were in London because of the Champions Trophy, were tuned in online during the draft process. "I really enjoyed the entire draft process. I can't wait for the CPL to get started, and I love my team," Bravo said.

Among the overseas players, Ricky Ponting, Steven Smith and Justin Kemp will play for Antigua and Barbuda while Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, and Shakib Al Hasan will play for Barbados. Mohammad Hafeez, Martin Guptill, and James Franklin will represent Guyana, and Muttiah Muralitharan, Shaun Marsh, Vernon Philander, and Jacques Rudolph have been enlisted by Jamaica. Herschelle Gibbs, Albie Morkel, and Tamim Iqbal have been signed by St Lucia, and Ross Taylor, Aaron Finch, and Kevin O'Brien will turn out for Trinidad & Tobago. Adam Gilchrist, last week, pulled out of the Caribbean Premier League due to an ankle injury.

Players in the league were originally divided into three groups. Pool A featured international cricketers - 14 from West Indies and 12 from overseas. Pool B included six international and over 100 local players, a few of whom have represented West Indies. Under-23 players from across the Caribbean islands made up Pool C.

A head coach, assistant coach, one West Indian and one international player, designated as 'franchise players' (who are among the 15 in each squad) made up the team's selection committee, and was in charge of strategies for the draft. These franchise players were not part of the three pools and were appointed to each team by the league.

Apart from the two franchise players, each team could pick four players from Pool A, seven players from Pool B and two from Pool C. Players selected from Pool C have to be under 23 years of age before September 1, 2013. However, five of the six franchises picked just three international players instead of four. Jamaica was the only one that picked four international cricketers.

A total of 24 matches will be played in the competition that starts on 30 July and ends on August 24.

Antigua and Barbuda: Marlon Samuels, Ricky Ponting, Kieran Powell, Johnson Charles, Kemar Roach, Steven Smith, Sheldon Cotterell, Dave Mohammed, Devon Thomas, Gavin Tonge, Justin Kemp, Rakheem Cornwall, Jahmar Hamilton, Anthony Martin, Montcin Hodge.

Barbados: Kieron Pollard, Shoaib Malik, Dwayne Smith, Shakib Al Hasan, Umar Akmal, Jason Holder, Shannon Gabriel, Rayad Emrit, Ashley Nurse, Carlos Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Kyle Mayes, Devendra Bishoo, Kirk Edwards, Ramon Reifer.

Guyana: Sunil Narine, Mohammad Hafeez, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Lendl Simmons, Denesh Ramdin, James Franklin, Christopher Barnwell, Martin Guptill, Krishmar Santokie, William Perkins, Steven Jacobs, Ronsford Beaton, Trevon Griffith, Narsingh Deonarine, Veerasammy Permaul.

Jamaica: Chris Gayle, Muttiah Muralitharan, Andre Russell, Ravi Rampaul, Shaun Marsh, Vernon Philander, Danza Hyatt, Carlton Baugh, Nikita Miller, Jacques Rudolph, Chadwick Walton, Jermaine Blackwood, Akeem Dewar, Dave Bernard, Nkrumah Bonner.

St. Lucia: Darren Sammy, Herschelle Gibbs, Albie Morkel, Tino Best, Tamim Iqbal, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Shane Shillingford, Devon Smith, Andre Fletcher, Garey Mathurin, Liam Sebastien, Dalton Polius, Kavem Hodge, Kenroy Peters, Nelon Pascal.

Trinidad & Tobago: Dwayne Bravo, Ross Taylor, Darren Bravo, Fidel Edwards, Aaron Finch, Samuel Badree, Kevon Cooper, Kevin O'Brien, Sulieman Benn, Adrian Barath, Delorn Johnson, Nicholas Pooran, Yannick Cariah, Miguel Cummins, Justin Guillen.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Kemar on June 8, 2013, 10:46 GMT

    Hmmm I'll go to every game at Sabina Park and cheer on 'Club Jamaica', but they look the leased balanced team (on paper, of course). Based on current form of the players picked. I think Guyana will be the team to beat and behind them it's a toss-up between Antigua/Barbuda and Barbados. Jamaica will be heavily dependent on Gayle.

  • Dummy4 on June 7, 2013, 21:19 GMT

    St Lucia has far too many short-form openers....Gibbs, Tamim Iqbal, Fletcher, Devon Smith and Chanderpaul !

  • Dummy4 on June 7, 2013, 5:05 GMT

    Guyana has picked way too many openers and spinners. we didn't need permaul and Griffith in the squad. Narsingh is also lucky to be there. what we needed was a good power hitter for the end, instead now I think we will have to work with franklin... btw what is Perkins doing in the squad as well????

  • Dummy4 on June 7, 2013, 4:09 GMT

    Best of Luck CPL. The tournament will be a great one because of participating both Bangladeshi & Pakistani Players consisting of 400 millions of fans. Just we need the timing rights so that we can watch the match of CPL. Be away from FIXING.

  • Dummy4 on June 7, 2013, 2:33 GMT

    can't wait for this competition to start. It should really bring out the crowds. The Bravos VS Narine. Gayle Vs Samuel. It will be very exciting.

  • Dummy4 on June 7, 2013, 0:46 GMT

    tnt is the dark horse in this cpl rite knw but we gone win tho

  • Dummy4 on June 6, 2013, 20:05 GMT

    The selectors of the Guyana Franchise have made some serious blunders in not selecting Leon Johnson or Chanderpaul Hemraj as one of its U-23 players. I have always viewed Roger Harper as an astute person so I an surprised that Griffith (who is indeed talented but has not produced the goods) being selected ahead of Hemraj. Permaul should not have been selected because his recent performances in T-20 has been poor to say the least. With Narine & Hafeez in the Team and with valuable support from Jacobs & Deonarine, we do not need another spinner. Santokie is an excellent pick.

  • Dummy4 on June 6, 2013, 19:32 GMT

    Wicket keeper for TNT is Nicholas Pooran a young an aggressive batsman. Supposedly very talented with the gloves.

  • M on June 6, 2013, 19:15 GMT

    the keeper for TT is Pooran. he is just 18yrs old. new on the scene, very aggressive batsman

  • o on June 6, 2013, 18:50 GMT

    Chris Gayle and Shaun Marsh opening !. . . With Philander Rampaul Murali and Miller JA gotta be favorites. The Pakistanis will be supporting Barbados then, with Malik Hasan and Akmal all in the side haha good balance of talent overall looks like it will be a competitive competition.

  • No featured comments at the moment.