February 16, 2000

Ponting and Hayden named in 14-man Test squad

Australian Cricket Board (ACB) Chief Executive Officer Malcolm Speed today announced that the National Selection Panel had chosen the Test squad for the Coca-Cola Australian Tour of New Zealand 2000.

The fourteen-man squad to compete in the three-Test series against New Zealand is:

  • Stephen Waugh (c - NSW)
  • Shane Warne (vc - VIC)
  • Greg Blewett (SA)
  • Damien Fleming (VIC)
  • Adam Gilchrist (WA)
  • Matthew Hayden (QLD)
  • Michael Kasprowicz (QLD)
  • Justin Langer (WA)
  • Brett Lee (NSW)
  • Glenn McGrath (NSW)
  • Colin Miller (TAS)
  • Ricky Ponting (TAS)
  • Michael Slater (NSW)
  • Mark Waugh (NSW)

    The squad consists of the thirteen players originally selected for the third Ansett Australia Test match against India in Sydney in January, plus Queensland batsman Matthew Hayden.

    Ricky Ponting, who is missing from the one-day squad with a damaged right ankle, will take part in the tour subject to passing a fitness test before the Test players depart for New Zealand.

  • Comments