West Indies v Zimbabwe, Under-19 World Cup February 2, 2016

West Indies mankad Zimbabwe to enter quarter-final

ESPNcricinfo staff

The West Indies Under-19 team made the quarter-finals in a controversial finish to their group match against Zimbabwe © International Cricket Council

West Indies Under-19 entered the quarter-final of the World Cup in controversial and tense circumstances, as Keemo Paul effected a mankad to claim the last Zimbabwe Under-19 wicket - that of Richard Ngarava - with three runs needed off the final over. Paul ran through the bowling crease without entering his delivery stride and broke the stumps, catching the non-striker Ngarava with his bat on the line while he was standing a couple of steps out of his crease.

The two on-field umpires conferred before asking West Indies if they wanted to uphold the appeal, and once it was confirmed that they did, the third umpire was called in and found the batsman just on the line, ending Zimbabwe's campaign in a game they had to win to make the quarter-final. The dismissal was within the rules of the game.

A visibly upset Zimbabwe captain Brandon Mavuta refused to comment on the mankad after the game "We got so close, no comment about it. I don't have anything to say right now," Mavuta said. "No comment."

The West Indies captain Shimron Hetmyer said he was comfortable with the decision to appeal for the wicket. "I would say yes, cricket is a game of uncertainties, we've seen it happen in cricket before, it's not a big deal for us."

"Probably not," said Hetmyer, when he was asked if he thought if it was in the spirit of the game.

The Zimbabwe manager Admire Marodza said the team was unhappy but there was little they could do but console the players because the dismissal was within the rules. "It is too early to comment but we are trying to get emotions under control in the dressing-room. Everyone is disappointed at the loss," Marodza said. "Rules are rules. We can't change them and we can't change what happened. A run-out is a run-out. I don't think it is anything to protest about. We are not happy about losing the game from such a good position. The way our boys competed, it is an achievement. We are happy how we played in this tournament." The Zimbabwe coach Stephen Mangongo said he was "disappointed with the way the game ended."

"I have debriefed the boys in the dressing room and they were all crying," Mangongo said. "We have explained that technically the run-out is legal. We left it to the last man and we should not have done that. It was a hard lesson and they have learnt it the hard way.

"I am proud of my boys. Restricting the West Indies for 226 on a batting-friendly wicket was a good performance and we were up for the chase. And like any other games, we lost quick wickets under pressure.

West Indies coach Graeme West said he felt sorry for Zimbabwe after the game. "I can imagine what they must be going through now. I feel sorry for them because they got themselves into winning positions and then we pulled it back. I share their disappointment."

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Kemmy on February 9, 2016, 13:00 GMT

    Anyone with a heart has to feel for Zimbabwe however this is a legitimate way of getting a batsman out. In essence the batsman is trying to get a head start on a quick single. Persons saying this is against the spirit of the game should also feel the same way about stumping as in many such cases the batsman simply overbalances causing him to drift out of his crease. In my mind a much smaller offence. We must remember after all that this is a sporting event between fierce competitors not a little girls' tea party.

  • Lance on February 7, 2016, 0:12 GMT

    As much as I love cricket and think it's the best sport on the planet, sometimes I have to shake my head. In what other sport is someone obligated to warn an opposing player before an action to gain an advantage that was well within the rulebook? Oh look mr. base runner, please don't venture too far as I may pick you off...oh look mr.football head coach, you have 12 men on the field. I promise not to snap the ball so you won't get penalized 5 yards. In all other sports its commonplace to exploit other teams for boneheaded mistakes and oversights. What's so special about cricket? It's hard luck for the batsman and I feel bad for him but he will have learned a valuable lesson. One must always be aware of the situation at all times as it may cost you a win. I don't find any of this unsporting in the least.

  • jaswant on February 5, 2016, 16:50 GMT

    It takes the spirit away from the game. It divides people. Sportsmanship becomes questionable. It would have been noble not to uphold such a decision. Should WI win this tournament there will be much to say. Be a sportsman like the great Sir Frank Worrell.

  • James on February 5, 2016, 15:42 GMT

    people should read the 'rules' of this particular tournament before incorrectly spouting the Laws of cricket the 'rules' do not mention anything about 'delivery stride' in fact the 'rules' conflict the Laws of cricket since they allow the bowler to enter the delivery arm swing and still mankad the non striker whereas the Laws state clearly that if the bowler in his delivery stride or bowling action fails to release the delivery the ump must call and signal dead ball if the non striker was one cm behind the line Keemo would still have attempted the Mankad-he had no intention to deliver the ball - that is time wasting - go check Law 2 is applicable to this whole event

  •   Anthony Adaikalaraj Amirtharaj on February 5, 2016, 12:22 GMT

    It is like bowlers bowling no balls, i don't think any bowler gets any warning for overstepping similarly the batsman should stay inside the crease still the bowler delivers the ball, if not then bowler has the right to run him out.

  • FawadAlam4Lyfe on February 5, 2016, 10:34 GMT

    @ATANU, thats not fair. Umpires warn bowlers for walking on the danger area, do they not? So they should warn the batsmen for backing up too far.

  • Robin on February 4, 2016, 17:09 GMT

    I've always had mixed feelings about this. Yes we can get on our high horse and say it's not in the spirit of the game and it's bad sportsmanship, but on the other hand, why have it in the rulebook?...if it's felt that strongly, then they should outlaw it from being a way to get out. Bottom line is, it was going in Zimbabwe's favour and a desperate situation between winning and losing and most importantly, they didn't do anything illegal. If any opposition team did it to us, then i wouldn't like it, but it's within the rules. So until the day comes when that rule has changed, the Moral-Police need to suck it up, get over it and move on!!!

  • Peter on February 4, 2016, 14:46 GMT

    Same WI player Walsh warn the Pak player to come on the crease at bowler's end possibly Walsh able to out batsman by touch the stump but he wasn't eventhough WI can enter QF of the WC if that PAK player at that time, Walsh was praised whole world until now for his sportsmanship, now the days very difficult to such a culture.

  •   Atanu Samanta on February 4, 2016, 10:58 GMT

    Peoples are talking about warning for the batsman at non-striking end. But if this right then you need to set warning for all types of OUT situation. And Please forget the word "Sportsmanship". Now this word is used for keeping in media highlight.

  • Munyaradzi on February 4, 2016, 9:32 GMT

    i think it was bad for Zim, but then the batsman should not step out of the crease. i think its a wake up call for all the cricketers. umpires should also warn batsmen if the step outside the crease/

  • No featured comments at the moment.