Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2009-10, 2nd day September 26, 2009

Karnataka get on board, TN keep rolling

Cricinfo staff

Karnataka came back from defeat yesterday to beat Andhra on the second day of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy in Visakhapatnam. Rain reduced each innings to just five overs and Karnataka, after opting to field, were set a target of 48. They knocked it down in three overs.

Manish Pandey hit 11 off five balls, B Akhil slammed three sixes in his six-ball 19, and Robin Uthappa remained not out on 20 off seven. It was as comprehensive a win as could be given the circumstances. Andhra's total of 47 for 5 was down to K Sahabuddin's unbeaten 11-ball 23, with three fours and a six. Karnataka took four points from this win.

Tamil Nadu won their second in a row by holding Goa to an 11-run loss. S Anirudha and AB Karthik scored 42 and 44 respectively to carry the top order before Amit Yadav took three to limit the damage. A target of 145 proved just out of Goa's reach despite a strong start from their openers. Swapnil Asnodkar hit 29 off 20 balls and was first out at 63 in the seventh over, after which his fellow opener Sagun Kamat went for 35. Here on, L Balaji and R Ashwin tidied up matters and sealed the win.

The third match between Hyderabad and Kerala was washed out.