India news June 4, 2012

Sandipan Das, Sanju Samson in India U-19 Asia Cup squad

ESPNcricinfo staff

Sandipan Das, a batsman from Bengal, and Kerala's wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson have been named in India's Under-19 squad that will play the Asia Cup, in Malaysia, later this month. Delhi's Unmukt Chand will continue to lead the team, while Akshdeep Nath retains his post as vice-captain in the 15-man squad that was picked in Bangalore on Sunday.

Samson was part of Kolkata Knight Riders' squad for IPL 2012, but did not get a game.

Prashant Chopra, Kumar Deobrat and Kuldeep Yadav, who were part of India U-19s' last assignment, missed out. That assignment was a quadrangular series in Australia in April, which also featured New Zealand and England. India U-19s lost all of their group matches in that tournament, but were in top form in the knock-out games: they beat England in the semi-final, and then beat Australia by seven wickets and more than seven overs to spare.

Chand was a key performer in those two victories, hitting 94 and an unbeaten 112. He has captained India U-19s since September 2011, leading the team to victory in two quadrangular series.

India will play Nepal in the opening game of the U-19 Asia Cup, on June 23. The other participating teams include Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Malaysia and Qatar. The tournament will be a precursor to the World Cup in Australia in August.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Naresh on June 7, 2012, 10:53 GMT

    When you are born(1st day on earth) You are not one year old, but 1day out of 365days. Thus your first birthday(1year old) is after you have completed 365days. Indians generally fail to understand this and therefore count an extra year. This should explain the year discreptancy.

  • Kishor on June 6, 2012, 6:00 GMT

    Unmukt Chand is 19 years 72 days old, how can he be a part of U-19 !!

  • Dummy4 on June 5, 2012, 15:04 GMT

    Akshdeep nd Unmakt are very good future prospects for india....

  • Dummy4 on June 5, 2012, 6:02 GMT

    Sanju V Samson...! All the best...He is a good,solid batsman and WK.... Baba Aparajith Good off spinner and can bat any position..We may see him in the next season IPL in yellow color(CSK),Mohsin Sayyed is a yung bowler who impressed a lot in the last two series so as sandeep sharama and Rush..!

  • gulshan on June 5, 2012, 3:47 GMT

    @ Deepak Mavinkurve & Dinesh Vishwanathan. In any tournament of ICC or BCCI. Date of Birth is calculated from 1st sep to 31st august. mean players born after 1st sepetember will be eligible to play in their age group till next year 31 august. e.g. any player born on 2nd October 1992 has compeleted 19 yrs on 2nd october 2011. but he will be eligible to play under 19 tournament till 31st august 2012. but player born on 31st august 1992 will not be eligible to play in u19 group in 2011-12. I think ur doubt must hv got clear. if still there is any doubt..pls put ur doubt..i will clarify........

  • Dummy4 on June 5, 2012, 0:38 GMT

    Looking for to the tournament. Can anyone help with details on some of the Bangladesh players? Namely - Abu Haider, Kazi Nurul Hasan, Touhid Tareq Khan & Asif Hossain. Dates of Birth, type of bat and bowl would be a big help!

  • Dummy4 on June 4, 2012, 19:54 GMT

    Deepak, they usually have to be 19 or under on a date specified by the board. A bit of a loophole.

  • Dummy4 on June 4, 2012, 15:32 GMT

    Interesting selection... When I look up the profile of players on this same website, I notice that most of them are over 19 years.

    Not sure if they mean Under 20, in which case all of the selection seem to fit in

  • Varun on June 4, 2012, 14:43 GMT

    Unmukt Chand, Vijay Zol and Harmeet Singh will be key.

  • No featured comments at the moment.