IPL 2015 review May 25, 2015

The IPL 2015 tournament XI

ESPNcricinfo picks its team of the 2015 season, with a limit of only four overseas players in the XI

Ashish Nehra and Virat Kohli make it to our IPL 2015 XI © BCCI

One hundred and forty five. That's the number of players who got a game in this year's IPL. That means a potential 10 quadrillion combinations of ESPNcricinfo's tournament XI. Fortunately, it wasn't as complex an exercise: unlike earlier occasions where we usually have each staff member sending in their XIs and spots being filled by names that get the most mentions, this time it was more of an actual selection meeting deliberation.

Six from the XI were unanimous picks: Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma stood out as captains, and were also among the better domestic batsmen on show; two left-arm fast bowlers Ashish Nehra and Mitchell Starc; and Yuzvendra Chahal and Harbhajan Singh as the two spin options.

Three batsmen, three bowlers. Now the remaining five spots. Given the format, the openers were expectedly among the highest run-scorers. David Warner, Ajinkya Rahane and Lendl Simmons led the pack this season, and Parthiv Patel was the best wicketkeeper-batsman in the tournament. Not to forget the impressive season that Shreyas Iyer had for Delhi Daredevils. Also, with more runs than both Kohli and Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers surely had done enough to slot in among the remaining three overseas spots.

Then the allrounders from the West Indies. (Being West Indian was not a selection criterion). Andre Russell had three Man-of-the-Match performances, Dwayne Bravo was the leading wicket-taker, and Kieron Pollard stepped up when it mattered for Mumbai Indians. For his consistency with both bat and ball, Russell won our nod, though we did debate if we should have another.

Back to the openers. One suggestion was to stick with Mumbai's pair of Parthiv and Simmons. But Warner had a far more impressive strike rate than Simmons. And if both Warner and Simmons featured, then there would be no place for de Villiers. So, we picked Warner as an opener and de Villiers in the middle order. To partner Warner, the call was between Rahane and Parthiv. The other option was to have de Villiers keep wickets as well, which he didn't in this IPL, and pick an Indian middle-order batsmen instead of Parthiv, but the lack of options and taking the easy cheat-sheet route made it a no-go. Final decision: Rahane opens, Parthiv moves down the order.

Our 12th man would be Bravo: in case the bowling needed beefing up, he could replace either Warner or de Villiers. The XI has six batsmen (two of them wicketkeepers, too), one fast-bowling allrounder, two left-arm fast bowlers and two spinners. Four from the Royal Challengers made the XI, while Warner was the only one from our XI last year who made the cut in 2015. For the captain's spot, who better than a man with two IPL titles: Rohit Sharma.

The IPL 2015 XI

1. David Warner (Sunrisers) - 562 runs, average 43, strike-rate 157

2. Ajinkya Rahane (Royals) - 540 runs, average 49, strike-rate 131

3. Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers) - 505 runs, average 46, strike-rate 131

4. AB de Villiers (Royal Challengers) - 513 runs, average 47, strike-rate 175

5. Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians) - 482 runs, average 34, strike-rate 145

6. Andre Russell (Knight Riders) - 326 runs, average 36, strike-rate 193, 14 wickets, average 23, economy rate 8

7. Parthiv Patel (Mumbai Indians) - 339 runs, average 26, strike-rate 138

8. Harbhajan Singh (Mumbai Indians) - 18 wickets, average 25, economy rate 7.8

9. Mitchell Starc (Royal Challengers) - 20 wickets, average 15, economy rate 6.8

10. Ashish Nehra (Super Kings) - 22 wickets, average 20, economy rate 7.2

11. Yuzvendra Chahal (Royal Challengers) - 23 wickets, average 18, economy rate 8.9

Play 05:59
Agarkar and O' Brien pick their all star IPL team

Mathew Varghese is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on May 28, 2015, 15:02 GMT

    1-David Warner 2-Parthiv Patel(wk) 3-Virat Kohli 4- Suresh Raina 5-Rohit Sharma(c) 6-Yusaf Pathan 7- Keron Polard 8- Harbhajan Singh 9- Mitchel Starc 10- Yuzvendra Chahal 11- Lasith Malinga

  • Dummy4 on May 28, 2015, 9:59 GMT

    T20 is very fast where no skill is required. It is just 120 deliveries each, each team has to play. Let me put it like this there are 4 yugas. Krutha Yuga & Treta Yuga are test matches where people have patience to think & do the work. Dwapara Yuga is 50-50 where people think & think only how to destroy others. Kaliyuga is T20 which is like 2minute Maggi Noodles. Every thing is instant not filter coffee. Today test matches are getting results because of more of one day cricket & T20 cricket. Kindly give more importance to test cricket. where the skill of each & every individual player is tested for this temperment.

  • Dummy4 on May 28, 2015, 9:56 GMT

    David Warner, Llendl Simmons, Shreyas Iyer, Rohit Sharma, Sanju Samson, Andre Russel, Dwayne Bravo, Harbhajan Singh, Ashish Nehra, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Yuzhvendra Chahal.

    Llendl Simmons scored as much as Rahane having played fewer matches. He also played well in the big matches. Shreyas Iyer was the best young player this season. Sanju Samson is more of a middle order batsman than Parthiv, who has been opening at every level of the game and his 76 off 46 against MI was the best innings by a wicket-keeper this season. Bravo ended up as the highest wicket-taker and armed with his brilliant fielding abilities, he cannot be ignored. Bhuvi was truly impressive this season. He emerged out as the leader of an attack which featured Steyn, Boult, Praveen Kumar and Ishant Sharma. He was good at the top and death. It was him and Warner who took Sunrisers as far as they ended up reaching, a win away from qualifiers.

  • Dummy4 on May 28, 2015, 8:45 GMT

    Selfish over rrated AB Devilliers is not a match winner. Why his team be it SA or RCB never even reach finals of any big tournament??

  • Dummy4 on May 28, 2015, 8:35 GMT

    Lendl Simmons Keron Polard in place of Kohli R Sharma

  • Dummy4 on May 28, 2015, 7:54 GMT

    no malinga,,,,, ashish nehara he he he funny selection

  • d on May 28, 2015, 7:50 GMT

    IPL 2015 XI= CSK. enough said

  • Dummy4 on May 27, 2015, 13:59 GMT

    So what happen Lendl Simmons?

  • Dummy4 on May 27, 2015, 12:25 GMT

    XI - 1. WARNER 2. Rahane 3. Kohli 4. AB 5. Rohit(C) 6. Dhoni(wk) 7.RUSSELL 8. STARC 9. B.Kumar 10. Ashwin 11. Chahal

  • Dummy4 on May 27, 2015, 10:10 GMT

    what the hell no bravo no shreyas in the 11 and how come Yousuf pathan in the list !!!! one of the most ridiculous list !!!

  • No featured comments at the moment.