January 17, 2001

Sri Lankans name team for New Zealand tour

Nuwan Zoysa
Nuwan Zoysa
Photo CricInfo

Sri Lanka's selectors have made three changes to their team for their five-match tour of New Zealand starting in Napier on Wednesday, January 31.

Sri Lanka plays the last game of its one day series with South Africa today at Wanderers in Johannesburg while the third Test starts in Centurion on Saturday.

The side, which was announced in Colombo today, will be without Pramodya Wickremasinghe, Muthumudalige Pushpakumara and Tillekeratne Dilshan.

Aravinda de Silva, who recently replaced injured all-rounder Upul Chandana in South Africa, will made the tour while the side's fast-bowling ranks will include left-arm fast bowler Nuwan Zoysa, who made his international debut here on the last tour. He has been dogged by injury subsequently and has played only 15 Tests to date.

He will join experienced all-rounder Chaminda Vaas with the new ball while the spin will again be spearheaded by Mutiah Muralitharan.

The Sri Lankan team is: Sanath Jayasuriya, Marvan Atapattu, Russel Arnold, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Avishka Gunawardene, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Mutiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas, Nuwan Zoysa, Dilhara Fernando, Kaushalya Weeraratne, Aravinda de Silva, Ruchira Perera, Eric Upashantha, Kumar Dharmasena.

Meanwhile, the CLEAR Black Caps team for the first two games of the series will be announced next Wednesday at a press conference at New Zealand Cricket headquarters in Christchurch.