Sri Lanka v India, 3rd ODI, Dambulla

SLC, Randiv apologise to Sehwag for no-ball incident

Cricinfo staff

August 17, 2010

Comments: 243 | Text size: A | A

Virender Sehwag raises his arms after the victory, Sri Lanka v India, tri-series, 3rd ODI, Dambulla, August 16, 2010
Virender Sehwag was denied an ODI hundred when Suraj Randiv bowled a no-ball to end the match © AFP
Enlarge

Sri Lanka Cricket and offspinner Suraj Randiv have both apologised to Virender Sehwag for denying him a one-day century after a deliberate no-ball from Randiv ended the match and left the India opener stranded on 99, despite him hitting the delivery for six. SLC has also asked for an enquiry in to the incident.

Sehwag went on to criticise Randiv's actions in the post match press conference, and SLC secretary Nishantha Ranatunga called India manager Ranjib Biswal this morning to apologise.

"Today in the morning, Sri Lanka Cricket secretary Nishantha Ranatunga called me up expressing his regret about yesterday's no-ball incident. He expressed his regret officially and asked me to convey it to the Indian team, particularly to Sehwag. They have also assured that they will look into the matter officially, why it happened and correct the procedure."

Meanwhile Sehwag revealed on Twitter that Randiv had apologised to him personally. "Hi guys. Randiv came to my room n(sic) apologize," Sehwag wrote.

Biswal said it was clear everything had happened in the heat of the action and now that Sri Lanka had apologised, it was time to move on.

"Randiv has himself gone to Sehwag's room and apologised for his action. I believe Sanga [Kumar Sangakkara] has spoke to Gary [Kirsten] and expressed his regret. So basically, it was done in the spur of the moment and once that action seeped in, people realised that they have made a mistake and they have come forward and expressed their apology.

"If you go by the rules, it's very much lawful. There is no violation of cricket rules. But when it comes to spirit of cricket and gamesmanship, one feels slighted about these things. Since they have expressed their regret and apologised for their action, we should put an end to this episode."

Ranatunga said the SLC has asked the team manager, Anura Tennekoon, to investigate the incident and will decide whether any further action is needed after seeing his report.

"We have asked him to probe the incident. We will take necessary action in this regard once we get the report. We are upset about the incident and we are unhappy as Sri Lankan cricketers have won the ICC spirit of the game award thrice and these things won't be tolerated," he said.

Sehwag was on 99 with India needing just one run to win, when Randiv overstepped the line by a large margin. Sehwag smacked the ball over long off but the runs did not count as the no ball meant India had already won the game.

After the game, Sehwag said Sri Lanka had used such tactics in the past, having left Sachin Tendulkar stranded at 96 with a similar strategy in a match in Cuttack.

"It was clear that the Lankan team did not want me to get to my 100," Sehwag said.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by satanswish on (August 17, 2010, 16:43 GMT)

Good to see Sehwag making issue of this incident. Srilankans have now done this 3 times, first time with Sourav Ganguly in 2002 Kandy test match, second time with Sachin Tendulkar in 2009 Cuttack ODI & third time now with Viru Sehwag in this match.

Mere apology would not do, both Sangakkara & Randiv should be banned for 2-3 matches each for such anti-sporting behaviour.

Posted by ratedstfu44 on (August 17, 2010, 16:34 GMT)

@TO ROSS TAYLOR AND SANGA & all other captains....pls let sehwag to get a century otherwise he will cry in the press that the opposition did not want him to get to his 100. @sehwag, is SL team getting money for fulfill ur century?

Posted by   on (August 17, 2010, 16:29 GMT)

lol!!! haven't seen many OFFSPINNERS with an attitude. Fast bowlers, maaybe.

Posted by 200ondebut on (August 17, 2010, 16:25 GMT)

Sehwag needs to get over this. It is not as if it would have been his first hundred.

Posted by   on (August 17, 2010, 16:06 GMT)

i dont accept what randiv did,as a sri lankan,we r far more better than this..but i can understand his mind as wel nobody wants to see opposition getting 100,.btw black mark for sri lankan cricket..but people do make mistakes...

Posted by   on (August 17, 2010, 16:04 GMT)

Well well sangakara has done it once again i dont no why he does it evry time last year in india when india needed few runs to win and sachin also was few runs short of his century ...sanga did everything possible to stop sachin but he failed...i think sanga has lost sportsmanship after he became the captain...why sanga doesnt think once that ipl has given him so much money fame what else he wants from india...Shame sanga...

Posted by Lion_of_Lanka on (August 17, 2010, 16:02 GMT)

This is a joke. Randhiv apologizing for Sehwag's inability to score the century. SLC has no backbone. It wasnt intentional. If it was why did Randhiv bowled to legal deliveries to him before the no ball. ICC must make a rule - every bowler must apologize to the batsman if he fails to score a century. Grow up Sehwag

Posted by   on (August 17, 2010, 15:50 GMT)

while sehwag has every right to feel aggrieved at not reaching a hundred, he cannot blame SL for it. if anything, it is the law that needs a serious relook. if two runs were needed for the win, sehwag would have got his hundred. the question is, why should it depend on the match situation to determine when a ball is dead?

Posted by gillbart on (August 17, 2010, 15:40 GMT)

1. When a fielder DELIBERATELY pushes the ball beyond the boundary, the bowling team is penalised by awarding the batting team with 5 runs whether the batting team wins or not by then. One solid example for this is the second test match against South Africa in Calcutta, 2010. 2. Randiv has DELIBERATELY over-stepped the crease inorderto increase the batting team's score by one run so that the match would get over. Considering the act of DELIBERACY, in my opinion, the bowling team should get penalised by awarding the batting team with as many runs that are scored by the batsman. 3. After all, when a bowler no-balls, it is included in the number of balls faced by the batsman. When a no-ball is included in the tally of number of balls, the number of runs scored is also supposed to be included. 4. True, the match has been won before the six, but the ball is still NOT yet dead. I therefore request the ICC to look into it and do justice by adding those SIX runs to Sehwag's score.

Posted by ChenduPhali on (August 17, 2010, 15:37 GMT)

Why in the world Randiv wanted to do that? Even the batsman Sehwag will never be so serious about his century. He showed it in 2nd test match recently. Had Randiv not bowled no ball and got hit for a six, that would have been forgotten after the match immediately cause Sehwag will do that to every bowler. But he will now be reminded of this incident everytime he will be hit for six (by sehwag essentially).

Comments have now been closed for this article

TopTop
Email Feedback Print
Share
E-mail
Feedback
Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days