Women's World Twenty20 2009 April 28, 2009

South Africa include Dinesha Devnarain in Twenty20 squad

Cricinfo staff

KwaZulu-Natal bowler Dinesha Devnarain is the only new inclusion in South Africa's squad for the Women's World Twenty20 in England in June. Her inclusion was at the expense of Eastern Province's Claire Terblanche. The rest of the team is the same as the one that participated in the Women's World Cup in Australia, losing all three matches and finishing with the worst record among the eight participants.

"We have stuck with the squad from the World Cup with the exception of the return to the squad of Dinesha Devnarain," Denise Reid, the convenor of selectors, said. "Dinesha is a skilled allrounder, bowls very good slower balls, which in this form of the game is a necessity and can make an impact on our game.

"The girls have obviously learnt a few hurtful lessons from the World Cup and can now focus on further preparations for the T20 exams. We rely heavily on the players, individually, to continue with their preparations and wish them the best of luck and form."

The squad will have another training camp between May 23 and 25 prior to their departure for England. South Africa are pitted against West Indies, New Zealand and Australia in the league phase of the tournament.

Squad: Sunette Loubser (capt), Alicia Smith, Susan Benade, Cri-Zelda Brits, Trisha Chetty, Dinesha Devnarain, Mignon du Preez, Shandre Fritz, Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Ashlyn Kilowan, Marcia Letsoalo, Charlize van der Westhuizen, Yolandi van der Westhuizen, Dane van Niekerk.