New Zealand in Sri Lanka 2013-14 November 17, 2013

Sri Lanka bring in Rambukwella, Prasanna for T20s

ESPNcricinfo staff

Offspinning allrounder Ramith Rambukwella and legspinner Seekkuge Prasanna have been named in Sri Lanka's squad for the two Twenty20s against New Zealand in Pallekele. Rambukwella, 22, had been selected in the national squad during the Bangladesh series in March, but did not get a match. Prasanna, however, has played a Test and nine ODIs, with the most recent in March 2012.

Both men had been penetrative with the ball during Kenya's recent Twenty20 series against the Sri Lanka A team. They had also each won a List A match against New Zealand A in early October. Rambukwella took five wickets at 11.60 in that series, and Prasanna took six at 16. That New Zealand A team featured Colin Munro, Grant Elliott, Anton Devcich, Andrew Ellis and Luke Ronchi, all of whom are in the New Zealand squad for the Twenty20s.

Opener Dimuth Karunaratne, middle-order batsman Ashan Priyanjan and spinner Rangana Herath were omitted from the squad, having been with the team for the ODI series. Karunaratne had failed in two attempts in the series, while Herath has increasingly been left out of the T20 team. Priyanjan is yet to make his international debut.

Sri Lanka had rotated its senior batsmen during their last Twenty20 series against South Africa, but Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene and Tillakaratne Dilshan have all been named in the side. Kusal Perera has also been retained from the ODI side.

The series is set to begin on Tuesday.

Sri Lanka squad: Dinesh Chandimal (capt.), Kumar Sangakkara, Lasith Malinga, Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Seekkuge Prasanna, Ramith Rambukwella, Suranga Lakmal, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara