T&T name squad for Carib Series opener

Powell to make Trinidad & Tobago debut

Wisden Cricinfo staff

January 7, 2004

Text size: A | A

Ricardo Powell, the West Indian Test batsman from Jamaica, is among five newcomers in a youthful Trinidad & Tobago squad to face the Leeward Islands in their opening Carib Beer Series match. The hard-hitting Powell, who has played one Test and 79 one-day internationals, was granted permission to represent T&T after marrying a Trinidadian and taking up residence there.

The other newcomers are the left-arm spinner Davindra Krishna, who has captained the West Indian Under-15 team, the opening batsman Tishan Maraj, a former T&T U19 skipper, and the former national youth team players Kenton Thompson and Amit Jaggernauth. Krishna, who has had a niggling shoulder injury, is expected to have a fitness test before the match, which starts on Friday (Jan 10).

In the absence of the regular captain Daren Ganga, who is with the West Indian team in South Africa, the opener Imran Jan will take charge for the first time.

Trinidad & Tobago squad
Imran Jan (capt), Dwayne Bravo, Tishan Maraj, Ricardo Powell, Shazam Babwah, Aneil Kanhai, Gibran Mohammed, Marlon Black, Reyad Emrit, Amit Jaggernauth, Davindra Krishna, Theodore Modeste, Kenton Thompson, Rodney Sooklal. Manager: Omar Khan. Coach: David Williams

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
Related Links
Players/Officials: Imran Jan | Ricardo Powell
Teams: West Indies
Country Fixtures Country Results
3rd ODI: West Indies v Bangladesh at Basseterre
Aug 25, 2014 (14:30 local | 18:30 GMT | 14:30 EDT | 13:30 CDT | 11:30 PDT)
Only T20I: West Indies v Bangladesh at Basseterre
Aug 27, 2014 (20:00 local | 00:00 GMT | 20:00 EDT | 19:00 CDT | 17:00 PDT)
1st Test: West Indies v Bangladesh at Kingstown
Sep 5-9, 2014 (10:00 local | 14:00 GMT | 10:00 EDT | 09:00 CDT | 07:00 PDT)
1st ODI: WI Women v NZ Women at Basseterre
Sep 12, 2014 (09:30 local | 13:30 GMT | 09:30 EDT | 08:30 CDT | 06:30 PDT)
2nd Test: West Indies v Bangladesh at Gros Islet
Sep 13-17, 2014 (10:00 local | 14:00 GMT | 10:00 EDT | 09:00 CDT | 07:00 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days