Tri-nation tournament in Zimbabwe

Dilshan to lead Sri Lanka in Zimbabwe

Sa'adi Thawfeeq

May 20, 2010

Text size: A | A

Lahiru Thirimanne shapes to sweep, Sri Lanka Cricket XI v Pakistanis, Colts Cricket Club Ground, Colombo, June 29, 2009
Lahiru Thirimanne is part of the squad of 15 © AFP
Related Links

Tillakaratne Dilshan will lead Sri Lanka in Zimbabwe in the absence of Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene, both of whom have been rested for the triangular series also involving India. Sanath Jayasuriya, who had a horrid World Twenty20, and Lasith Malinga also have been rested. Angelo Mathews, the allrounder, will deputise for Dilshan, who is on his first assignment as captain for an ODI series.

Muttiah Muralitharan, who was ruled out during the World Twenty20 due to a groin injury, also hasn't been picked. Sri Lanka have drafted in allrounder Jeewan Mendis, who's been in his country's domestic circuit for almost ten years but is yet to make a international appearance. Also featuring in the squad of 15 is left-handed batsman Lahiru Thirimanne, who played for Sri Lanka in two ODIs in Bangladesh in January.

Returning to the squad are opener Upul Tharanga, middle-order batsman Chamara Silva and fast bowler Dilhara Fernando, who were not picked for the World Twenty20 in the Caribbean.

The tournament gets underway in Bulawayo on May 28, with Zimbabwe taking on India in the opener.

Sri Lanka squad: Tillakaratne Dilshan (capt), Angelo Mathews (vice-capt), Upul Tharanga, Thilan Samaraweera, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Chamara Kapugedera, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilan Thushara, Ajantha Mendis, Jeevan Mendis, Dilhara Fernando, Chamara Silva, Thissira Perera.

RSS Feeds: Sa'adi Thawfeeq

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
Sa'adi ThawfeeqClose
Tournament Results
Zimbabwe v Sri Lanka at Harare - Jun 9, 2010
Sri Lanka won by 9 wickets (with 92 balls remaining)
Zimbabwe v Sri Lanka at Harare - Jun 7, 2010
Zimbabwe won by 8 wickets (with 13 balls remaining)
India v Sri Lanka at Harare - Jun 5, 2010
Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets (with 10 balls remaining)
Zimbabwe v India at Harare - Jun 3, 2010
Zimbabwe won by 7 wickets (with 70 balls remaining)
Zimbabwe v Sri Lanka at Bulawayo - Jun 1, 2010
Sri Lanka won by 9 wickets (with 64 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days