Sylhet Super Stars fall apart in 110 chase

Rangpur Riders 109 for 9 (Shakib 33, Shahid 4-12) beat Sylhet Super Stars 103 (Mominul 29, Shakib 3-31) by six runs
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details

The voodoo of chasing continued to haunt Sylhet Super Stars, as they lost their third consecutive game in similar fashion, this time by six runs to Rangpur Riders, who had made only 109 batting first.

Mushfiqur Rahim was there till the end, unbeaten on 25, but the big question was why he let Ajantha Mendis keep the strike when eight runs were needed off seven balls, meaning the No. 11 was on strike to face the last over.

Abu Jayed was given plenty of advice by his captain Shakib Al Hasan and senior players before running in to bowl the crucial last over. The first ball was an in-ducker, which Mendis survived. At the next delivery, though, Mendis swung hard and was caught at long-on by Thisara Perera.

Shakib, who contributed with both bat and ball, enjoyed the win by treating himself to a jig with Darren Sammy. But he was also involved in an ugly fracas with the umpire Tanvir Ahmed in the 13th over after a caught-behind appeal was turned down.

Despite Mushfiqur's inability to steer Sylhet home, the team's top-order batsmen did not help their cause either. Sylhet lost wickets at regular intervals in the chase, starting with the openers Josh Cobb and Dilshan Munaweera gifting theirs to Shakib without much on the board.

Mominul Haque and Mushfiqur tried to get them to some comfort, but Mominul was given out leg-before for 29, though replays showed there was an inside-edge on to the pad. Still, it was arguably Mominul's best innings of the season, as he was severe on Arafat Sunny and Shakib to find six fours.

Sylhet's decision to send in Nazmul Islam and Nasum Ahmed did not work, as they fell for 0 and 7 respectively. Ravi Bopara, a full batsman, hardly did better, trapped lbw for 1.

With 25 needed off 24 balls, Nazmul Hossain Milon was cleaned up by Shakib before Nurul Hasan was run out after a mix-up with Mushfiqur. The equation at this stage read 14 required off 13 balls. Mohammad Shahid, who had bowled so well to keep Rangpur to 109, edged a boundary, but was gone next ball to be the eighth wicket to fall.

Earlier, Shahid gave a short account of his current form, picking up 4 for 12 including a maiden in the final over of the Rangpur innings. His two overs up front and two towards the end were more about taking wickets rather than restricting the opposition.

Shakib tried hard to hold the Rangpur innings together, but there was a free-fall at the other end. He came to the crease in the third over when Soumya Sarkar's lean period continued, edging Shahid for just 7. Lendl Simmons was run out attempting a quick single before Mohammad Mithun was stumped off left-arm spinner Nasum.

As soon as Rangpur crossed the fifty mark, Jahurul Islam was also run out, and this time it was Shakib who sent him back when there was a sure single to midwicket, where Ravi Bopara took time gathering the ball. Perera tried to counterattack, hitting Ajantha Mendis for two sixes in the 13th over, but Bopara bowled a beauty to get rid of him in the next over.

Sammy, on whom a lot of Rangpur's plans rested, was out hit wicket as he went too far back to a Nazmul delivery. The next three wickets went to Shahid, who had Sachithra Senanayake, Shakib and Arafat Sunny all caught off skiers in the 18th and 20th overs.

  • Shakib receives one-match suspension

    Rangpur Riders captain Shakib Al Hasan has been suspended for one BPL match and fined Tk 20000 for two counts of breaching the BCB's code of conduct during the match against Sylhet Superstars on Thursday

  • Single mistake costs Sylhet

    Sylhet Superstars were left wondering what might have been, for the third time in four days

  • Sylhet Super Stars fall apart in 110 chase

    The voodoo of chasing continued to haunt Sylhet Superstars, as they lost their third consecutive game in similar fashion, this time by six runs to Rangpur Riders, who had made only 109 batting first

Super Stars 2nd innings Partnerships

1st5EMDY MunaweeraJJ Cobb
2nd26EMDY MunaweeraMominul Haque
3rd21Mushfiqur RahimMominul Haque
4th1Mushfiqur RahimNazmul Islam
5th3RS BoparaMushfiqur Rahim
6th17Mushfiqur RahimNasum Ahmed
7th12Mushfiqur RahimNazmul Hossain Milon
8th11Mushfiqur RahimNurul Hasan
9th4Mushfiqur RahimMohammad Shahid
10th3Mushfiqur RahimBAW Mendis

Bangladesh Premier League