Northampton, Jul 22 - 24 2008, County Championship Division Two
(5.4 ov, target 27)373 & 29/2
(f/o) 173 & 226
Northants won by 8 wickets
Northamptonshire 1st INNINGS
Stephen Peters c Allenby b New651892408034.39
Niall O'Brien c Dippenaar b du Preez914222064.28
Rob White c †Nixon b Allenby2029404068.96
David Sales  b Allenby15132237721146.89
Riki Wessels c †Nixon b du Preez614280042.85
Lance Klusener lbw b du Preez65951428068.42
Nicky Boje (c)lbw b Smith725361028.00
Andrew Hall run out 615151040.00
Johan van der Wath c Ackerman b Allenby421301019.04
David Lucas c Dippenaar b Smith1830012.50
David Wigley not out 1013152076.92
Extras(b 11, lb 14, w 4)29
TOTAL(124.1 Ov, RR: 3.00)373
Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Niall O'Brien), 2-51 (Rob White), 3-165 (Stephen Peters), 4-184 (Riki Wessels), 5-320 (Lance Klusener), 6-351 (David Sales), 7-357 (Nicky Boje), 8-358 (Andrew Hall), 9-359 (David Lucas), 10-373 (Johan van der Wath)
Nadeem Malik3049103.03---30
Dillon du Preez2768032.96---10
Tom Smith2988422.89---00
Jim Allenby21.184131.93---00
Claude Henderson1404002.85---00
Tom New20713.50---00
Jacques Du Toit10505.00---00
Leicestershire 1st INNINGS
Tom New c Peters b Lucas719211036.84
Matthew Boyce c Boje b van der Wath01017000.00
Jacques Du Toit c †O'Brien b Lucas2955664052.72
HD Ackerman c †O'Brien b Hall919311047.36
Boeta Dippenaar c †O'Brien b Hall921371042.85
Jim Allenby c Sales b van der Wath471241667037.90
Paul Nixon (c)†c White b van der Wath930411030.00
Tom Smith c †O'Brien b Lucas423340017.39
Claude Henderson lbw b Lucas1015161066.66
Dillon du Preez c Sales b Hall042000.00
Nadeem Malik not out 2753574050.94
Extras(lb 9, nb 2, w 11)22
TOTAL(62 Ov, RR: 2.79)173
Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Matthew Boyce), 2-13 (Tom New), 3-40 (HD Ackerman), 4-60 (Jacques Du Toit), 5-65 (Boeta Dippenaar), 6-89 (Paul Nixon), 7-110 (Tom Smith), 8-122 (Claude Henderson), 9-123 (Dillon du Preez), 10-173 (Jim Allenby)
Johan van der Wath1873531.94---10
David Lucas1735443.17---61
Nicky Boje731602.28---00
Andrew Hall1222932.41---00
David Wigley411403.50---00
Lance Klusener401604.00---00
Leicestershire 2nd INNINGS (FOLLOWING ON)
Nadeem Malik  b Lucas1530020.00
Matthew Boyce c †O'Brien b Hall311061214029.24
Tom New c Wessels b Boje1139501028.20
Jacques Du Toit c Sales b Wigley210140020.00
HD Ackerman c Hall b Boje639491015.38
Boeta Dippenaar c †O'Brien b van der Wath1535392042.85
Jim Allenby lbw b Lucas2257672038.59
Paul Nixon (c)†c Wigley b Lucas7312716010057.48
Tom Smith lbw b Hall3184893036.90
Claude Henderson c Hall b van der Wath01413000.00
Dillon du Preez not out 742310175.00
Extras(b 6, lb 7, nb 8, w 6)27
TOTAL(86 Ov, RR: 2.62)226
Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Nadeem Malik), 2-44 (Tom New), 3-55 (Jacques Du Toit), 4-64 (Matthew Boyce), 5-64 (HD Ackerman), 6-92 (Boeta Dippenaar), 7-126 (Jim Allenby), 8-192 (Tom Smith), 9-204 (Claude Henderson), 10-226 (Paul Nixon)
Johan van der Wath1625023.12---00
David Lucas1624532.81---42
Nicky Boje3086422.13---20
David Wigley1443212.28---00
Andrew Hall1042222.20---02
Northamptonshire 2nd INNINGS (target: 27 runs)
Stephen Peters c †Nixon b Malik0812000.00
Niall O'Brien c †Nixon b Smith3680050.00
Rob White not out 12111330109.09
David Sales not out 149830155.55
TOTAL(5.4 Ov, RR: 5.11)29/2
Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Niall O'Brien), 2-7 (Stephen Peters)
Tom Smith311214.00---00
Nadeem Malik2.401716.37---00
County Ground, Northampton
TossLeicestershire, elected to field first
SeriesCounty Championship Division Two
Hours of play (local time)11am start, Lunch 13.00-13.40, Tea 15.40-16.00, Close 18.00
Match days22,23,24 July 2008 - day (4-day match)
England Image
Jeremy Lloyds
England Image
Peter Willey
PointsNorthamptonshire 21, Leicestershire 3
Tue, 22 Jul - day 1 - Northants 1st innings 274/4 (David Sales 113*, Lance Klusener 44*, 96 ov)
Wed, 23 Jul - day 2 - Leics 2nd innings 8/1 (Matthew Boyce 2*, Tom New 3*, 3 ov)
Thu, 24 Jul - day 3 - Northants 2nd innings 29/2 (5.4 ov) - end of match
Day 1
  • Northamptonshire 1st innings
  • DJG Sales 100 in 256 mins off 224 balls, 14x4, 1x6