Chelmsford, Apr 5 - 7 2012, County Championship Division Two
(45.2 ov)(f/o) 180 & 146
Essex won by an innings and 38 runs
Essex 1st INNINGS
Billy Godleman  b Saxelby13024334616153.49
Alviro Petersen c APR Gidman b WRS Gidman15132020115.38
Tom Westley c Dent b Saxelby3346474071.73
Mark Pettini c †Coughtrie b Muchall991020100.00
Adam Wheater c APR Gidman b Muchall564245111133.33
Greg Smith c Muchall b Young34334050103.03
James Foster (c)†c Dent b Fuller461101084041.81
Graham Napier c APR Gidman b Saxelby2748655056.25
David Masters c Marshall b Fuller613211046.15
Maurice Chambers c WRS Gidman b Fuller065000.00
Tymal Mills not out 037000.00
Extras(lb 8)8
TOTAL(94.2 Ov, RR: 3.85)364
Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Alviro Petersen, 4.3 ov), 2-61 (Tom Westley, 16.6 ov), 3-76 (Mark Pettini, 19.5 ov), 4-146 (Adam Wheater, 31.2 ov), 5-210 (Greg Smith, 41.4 ov), 6-304 (James Foster, 74.2 ov), 7-357 (Graham Napier, 89.6 ov), 8-358 (Billy Godleman, 91.2 ov), 9-359 (Maurice Chambers, 92.3 ov), 10-364 (David Masters, 94.2 ov)
Will Gidman2117313.47887100
James Fuller19.228634.448415000
Paul Muchall1106025.454210000
Ian Saxelby1937634.008212000
Ed Young2346012.601025100
Chris Dent10101.0050000
Gloucestershire 1st INNINGS
Chris Dent  b Mills38671077056.71
Richard Coughtrie c Petersen b Chambers0814000.00
Dan Housego  b Masters391121493034.82
Alex Gidman (c)c †Foster b Masters15132020115.38
Hamish Marshall c Masters b Chambers1780014.28
Ian Cockbain  b Chambers01314000.00
Will Gidman lbw b Mills1445822031.11
Ed Young c †Foster b Masters1317173076.47
James Fuller  b Mills1732343053.12
Paul Muchall not out 1727401062.96
Ian Saxelby  b Napier1317241076.47
Extras(lb 1, nb 12)13
TOTAL(58.4 Ov, RR: 3.06)180
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Richard Coughtrie, 3.2 ov), 2-66 (Chris Dent, 24.5 ov), 3-91 (Alex Gidman, 29.1 ov), 4-96 (Hamish Marshall, 30.5 ov), 5-102 (Ian Cockbain, 34.2 ov), 6-108 (Dan Housego, 37.3 ov), 7-122 (Ed Young, 41.4 ov), 8-148 (James Fuller, 49.4 ov), 9-157 (Will Gidman, 53.2 ov), 10-180 (Ian Saxelby, 58.4 ov)
David Masters2063931.951016000
Maurice Chambers1434933.50666003
Graham Napier9.413313.41435000
Greg Smith602303.83274000
Tymal Mills913533.88351003
Gloucestershire 2nd INNINGS (FOLLOWING ON)
Chris Dent c †Foster b Napier518161027.77
Richard Coughtrie lbw b Napier03345000.00
Dan Housego c Petersen b Masters1738512044.73
Alex Gidman (c)c Westley b Napier021000.00
Hamish Marshall lbw b Masters821301038.09
Ian Cockbain c †Foster b Masters2135543060.00
Will Gidman lbw b Napier39343960114.70
Ed Young c Smith b Mills2331432074.19
James Fuller c Chambers b Napier01210000.00
Paul Muchall c Godleman b Smith2420050.00
Ian Saxelby not out 2444242054.54
Extras(lb 5, w 2)7
TOTAL(45.2 Ov, RR: 3.22)146
Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Chris Dent, 3.6 ov), 2-19 (Richard Coughtrie, 11.4 ov), 3-19 (Alex Gidman, 11.6 ov), 4-29 (Dan Housego, 17.2 ov), 5-42 (Hamish Marshall, 19.2 ov), 6-96 (Will Gidman, 29.5 ov), 7-98 (Ian Cockbain, 30.2 ov), 8-103 (James Fuller, 33.3 ov), 9-106 (Paul Muchall, 34.2 ov), 10-146 (Ed Young, 45.2 ov)
David Masters1473032.14713000
Graham Napier1415854.146411010
Greg Smith922012.22391000
Maurice Chambers20603.0080010
Tom Westley502204.40151000
Tymal Mills1.20513.7561000
County Ground, Chelmsford
TossGloucestershire, elected to field first
SeriesCounty Championship Division Two
Hours of play (local time)11am start, Lunch 13.00-13.40, Tea 15.40-16.00, Close 18.00
Match days5,6,7 April 2012 - day(4-day match)
FC debut
Paul Muchall
Paul Muchall
England Image
Michael Gough
England Image
Trevor Jesty
PointsEssex 23, Gloucestershire 3
Thu, 05 Apr - day 1 -Essex 1st innings 364
Fri, 06 Apr - day 2 -Gloucs 2nd innings 55/5 (Ian Cockbain 14*, Will Gidman 5*Ian Cockbain 14*, Will Gidman 5*, 22 ov)
Sat, 07 Apr - day 3 -Gloucs 2nd innings 146 (45.2 ov) - end of match
Day 1
  • Essex 1st innings
  • BA Godleman 100 off 183 balls, 265 minutes, 14x4, 1x6