Matches (16)
UAE v WI (1)
SL v AFG (1)
SL-A v SA-A (1)
ENG v IRE (1)
Vitality Blast (8)
Charlotte Edwards (4)
12th match, Savar (4), February 11, 2018, Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League

Sheikh Jamal won by 28 runs

Player Of The Match
71 (48) & 2 catches

Alok Kapali fires Brothers Union to hard-earned win

Agrani Bank Cricket Club also fall short in tense chase against Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club, while Legends of Rupganj canter to first win of the competition



Alok Kapali topped the runs and wickets charts as Brothers Union picked up their second win of the 2017-18 Dhaka Premier League, beating Prime Bank Cricket Club by 24 runs at the BKSP-3 ground. Kapali first struck 79 to fire Brothers Union to 294 for 7, before ripping through the core of the opposition's batting with three wickets.
Solid contributions from their top three meant that Brothers Union had already enjoyed a solid start and were 101 for 2 when Kapali arrived. But he lost two partners in quick time as they moved to 149 for 4. He then consolidated in the company of Yasir Ali, the other half-centurion of the innings, by putting on 95 for the fifth wicket, off 84 balls. Kapali pillaged five fours and an equal number of sixes in his 67-ball knock before becoming medium-pacer Delwar Hossain's first victim. But Yasir ensured the wicket didn't hurt their end-overs acceleration as Brothers Union punched 50 runs in the remaining 33 balls after Kapali's dismissal. Yasir stayed not out on 69 off 63 balls that came with the help of four fours and two sixes.
Prime Bank put up a tough fight in the chase, with as many as three batsmen notching up half-centuries, but still fell short of their target. That was because outside the three half-centurions, there was hardly any contribution of note, barring Delwar, who struck 36 at No. 9. Zakir Hasan and Kunal Chandela both struck an even fifty each. Chandela was the second of the two to fall, and when he did, the duo had made 100 of their team's 142 runs, with six wickets lost. That Prime Bank got close was down to Nahidul Islam, who triggered a late surge with his 88 at No. 7, and his ninth-wicket partnership of 107 with Delwar. Both batsmen fell off successive deliveries from the medium pacer Khaled Ahmed with Prime Bank requiring 35 more.
It was another close chase at the BKSP-4 Ground, but the team defending their total again prevailed as Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club beat Agrani Bank Cricket Club by 28 runs.
Solid contributions from their middle order laid Dhanmondi's platform, before Tanbir Hayder kicked them to into overdrive with 71 off 48 balls. Hayder was dismissed off the last ball, having blasted five fours and three sixes, but not before he had powered his team to a match-winning 294 for 9. Shafiul Islam, the national team pacer, who carved up opener Pinak Ghosh off the match's first ball, took three lower-order wickets in his final two overs to finish with 4 for 68.
Agrani Bank's top five got off to starts, but none of them got a big one, which hampered their chances. Shafiul once again came to the fore for his team, this time with the bat, and struck 44 at No. 9, but could not finish the job, becoming the last man dismissed as his team folded for 266. Dhiman Ghosh's 48 was their top score as they were bowled out for 266 in 49.1 overs. Left-arm spinners Nazmul Islam and Sunny took three wickets each for Dhanmondi.
Legends of Rupganj picked up their first points of the competition with a 62-run win over Mohammedan Sporting Club at the Fatullah Cricket Stadium.
Batting first, Rupganj rode on opener Abdul Mazid's 70 and contributions from the middle order to put up 231 for 7. Left-arm pace bowler Qazi Onik was responsible for the bulk of the damage, registering his maiden five-wicket haul in List-A cricket. He took 5 for 44 in 10 overs.
Mohammedan had many of their batsmen get off to starts, but a top score of 34 didn't help, as they buckled for 169 in 44.3 overs. The left-arm spinners Mosharraf Hossain (4 for 23) and Asif Hasan (3 for 37) split the majority of wickets between them, while pacer Mohammad Shahid accounted for the rest.

AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
Agrani Innings
<1 / 3>
Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League
Super League
Relegation League