Matches (13)
SA v ENG (1)
IND v NZ (1)
WU19 WC (1)
ILT20 (2)
BBL (1)
ZIM v WI (1)
Ranji Trophy (1)
PAK-W in AUS (1)
Super Smash (1)
SA Tri-Series (1)
BPL 2023 (2)
Brisbane, August 16, 2010, Emerging Players Tournament
(25.1/40 ov, T:152) 152/4

SA Emerging won by 6 wickets (with 89 balls remaining)


South Africa, India post wins

A round-up of matches on the sixth day of the Emerging Players Tournament in Brisbane

Cricinfo staff
South Africa Emerging Players 152 for 4 (Jacobs 46, Ingram 44*, Hazlewood 2-16) beat Australian Institute of Sports 151 (Maddinson 57, Walters 4-23, Phangiso 3-33) by six wickets
A splendid bowling performance led by Basheeru-Deen Walters enabled South Africa Emerging Players to defeat Australian Institute of Sports by six wickets, as they chased down the modest target of 152 with nearly 15 overs to spare.
Electing to bat first, Australia were rocked by fast bowler Craig Alexander, who dismissed Callum Ferguson and Moises Henriques to leave them struggling at 65 for 3. Opener Nic Maddinson and Ben Dunk then shared a 50-run stand for the fourth wicket to take the score to 115. However, Dunk's dismissal by Cornelius de Villiers triggered a collapse with the last seven wickets falling for 36 runs. Walters took 4 for 23 as no batsman after Dunk crossed double figures. Maddinson top-scored with 57 off 68 deliveries hitting six fours and a six as Australia were bowled out for 151 in 30.4 overs.
South Africa were always in control during the chase despite the early dismissal of Reeza Hendricks. Captain Davey Jacobs topscored with 46 off 39 deliveries but two wickets in two overs gave Australia some hope at 88 for 3. Colin Ingram however hammered an unbeaten 44 off 31 deliveries, hitting nine fours to seal the comfortable win.
India Emerging Players 198 for 3 (Mukund 80, Rahane 62, Bates 2-51) beat New Zealand Emerging Players 197 for 9 (Diamanti 62*, How 40, Kulkarni 3-54) by seven wickets
Abhinav Mukund and Ajinkya Rahane led a strong batting display as India easily chased down New Zealand's total of 197, losing only three wickets in the process.
Coming together after the early dismissal of Shikhar Dhawan, Mukund and Rahane shared a second-wicket stand of 145 in 149 deliveries that effectively sealed the match for India. Mukund hit ten fours in his 80 off 97 deliveries while Rahane hit six fours and two sixes in his 62 off 64. Naman Ojha was unbeaten on 23 off 15 as India reached the target in 31.4 overs.
Jamie How had earlier put New Zealand into a strong position at 71 for 1 in the 15th over, before falling to Piyush Chawla for 40 off 49 deliveries. Dean Brownlie was run out off the next ball and suddenly, New Zealand were 71 for 3. They lost wickets at regular intervals thereafter to be reduced to 143 for 7 at one stage. Brendon Diamanti restored some respectability to the score, topscoring with an unbeaten run-a-ball 62. Dhawal Kulkarni was the most successful Indian bowler taking 3 for 54 in ten overs.

SA Emerging Innings
<1 / 3>
Emerging Players Tournament
NZ Emerging623110.035