Matches (17)
WPL (2)
PSL 2024 (2)
AFG v IRE (1)
Nepal Tri-Nation (2)
Ranji Trophy (4)
Durham in ZIM (1)
BPL 2024 (1)
CWC Play-off (3)
WCL 2 (1)
3rd ODI, Vijayawada, November 16, 2016, ICC Women's Championship
(49.1/50 ov, T:200) 184

India (W) won by 15 runs


Krishnamurthy, Gayakwad seal India's series sweep

Rajeshwari Gayakwad's four-for and Veda Krishnamurthy's half-century sealed a 3-0 series win for India against West Indies

India women 199 for 6 (Krishnamurthy 71, Vaidya 32*, Nation 2-21) beat West Indies women 184 (Knight 55, Matthews 44, Gayakwad 4-34) by 15 runs
Left-arm spinner Rajeshwari Gayakwad's 4 for 34 helped India women defend 199, after Veda Krishnamurthy's 71 had helped set it up, as West Indies women were whitewashed 3-0 in the ODI series. The duo had led India to win in a similar pattern in the first ODI as well - Gayakwad had taken a four-for and Krishnamurthy had scored a fifty.
This was both teams' final ICC Women's Championship game. West Indies, who needed just one win at the start of the series to seal automatic qualification to the World Cup next year, remain in fourth place with 22 points. They now have an outside chance of missing out on automatic qualification, should South Africa whitewash Australia in the three-match series beginning from November 18. India finished the campaign with 19 points, and will have to earn their qualification to the World Cup.
Put in to bat, India suffered a top-order wobble as no batsman from the top four went past 25. India were crawling at 52 for 3 in the 21st over before Krishnamurthy salvaged the innings. She first took the score past 100 along with Harmanpreet Kaur in a stand of 51 for the fourth wicket, and then past 150 in the company of debutant Devika Vaidya with whom she put on 57 for the sixth wicket.
India managed 39 runs in the last 31 balls, after Krishnamurthy fell for 71 (79b, 10x4) in the 45th over. Vaidya finished unbeaten on 32 off 45, and Jhulan Goswami scored a useful 18 off 16. Chedean Nation, returning to international cricket after seven years, took 2 for 21 from her seven overs.
West Indies' top order gave them a steady start in their chase. Hayley Matthews (44) put on 49 for the opening stand with Shaquana Quintyne (18) and 20 for the second with Kycia Knight (55), before Gayakwad trapped her in front. West Indies captain Stafanie Taylor and experienced batsman Deandra Dottin scored 14 each, but there were no significant partnerships till Merissa Aguilleira (22) put on 46 with Knight for the sixth wicket.
They kept the chase alive, before Aguilleira was run out with West Indies still needing 34 off 32. Gayakwad then removed Knight, followed by Britney Cooper, in the 47th over. She also removed Anisa Mohammed in the 49th in between two run-outs, that saw West Indies lose their last five wickets for just 18 runs.

AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
W Indies (W) Innings
<1 / 3>
ICC Women's Championship