Matches (22)
CPL (3)
Marsh Cup (1)
UAE v BAN (1)
Road Safety (3)
Legends League (1)
NZ-A in IND (1)
County DIV1 (5)
County DIV2 (4)
PAK v ENG (1)
IND v SA (1)
WI-W v NZ-W (1)
2nd Test, Galle, June 03 - 07, 1998, New Zealand tour of Sri Lanka
193 & 114

Sri Lanka won by an innings and 16 runs

Player Of The Match
New Zealand 1st Innings
Sri Lanka 1st Innings
New Zealand 2nd Innings
Match Details
New Zealand 1st Innings 
Bryan Young c Jayasuriya b Bandaratilleke461521836030.26
Matt Horne c †Kaluwitharana b Bandaratilleke1550020.00
Stephen Fleming (c)lbw b Dharmasena1449572028.57
Nathan Astle c Tillakaratne b Dharmasena531922104127.60
Daniel Vettori c Tillakaratne b Bandaratilleke031000.00
Craig McMillan  b Bandaratilleke1343431030.23
Adam Parore c Jayasuriya b Dharmasena30871052034.48
Chris Cairns c Jayasuriya b Dharmasena046000.00
Chris Harris c Wickramasinghe b Dharmasena414130028.57
Paul Wiseman st †Kaluwitharana b Dharmasena2347501048.93
Shayne O'Connor not out 0149000.00
Extras(lb 7, nb 2)9
TOTAL101.1 Ov (RR: 1.90)193
Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Matt Horne, 2.2 ov), 2-21 (Stephen Fleming, 16.5 ov), 3-90 (Bryan Young, 52.2 ov), 4-90 (Daniel Vettori, 52.3 ov), 5-110 (Craig McMillan, 66.3 ov), 6-137 (Nathan Astle, 79.1 ov), 7-137 (Chris Cairns, 81.2 ov), 8-147 (Chris Harris, 85.1 ov), 9-190 (Adam Parore, 97.3 ov), 10-193 (Paul Wiseman, 101.1 ov)
Pramodya Wickramasinghe712002.85---00
Kumar Dharmasena24.147262.97---00
Niroshan Bandaratilleke38134741.23---00
Muthiah Muralidaran2393301.43---02
Sanath Jayasuriya41802.00---00
Aravinda de Silva52601.20---00
Sri Lanka 1st Innings 
Sanath Jayasuriya c Harris b Vettori2131492067.74
Marvan Atapattu c Vettori b Wiseman351171303029.91
Mahela Jayawardene lbw b Harris16727833818060.07
Aravinda de Silva lbw b Vettori1019230152.63
Arjuna Ranatunga (c)c O'Connor b Vettori36551001165.45
Hashan Tillakaratne  b Wiseman1037631027.02
Romesh Kaluwitharana run out (Harris)313120023.07
Kumar Dharmasena run out (Harris)1265761018.46
Pramodya Wickramasinghe c Harris b Vettori1218272066.66
Niroshan Bandaratilleke run out (Harris)46130066.66
Muthiah Muralidaran not out 22200100.00
Extras(lb 9, nb 2)11
TOTAL106.4 Ov (RR: 3.02)323
Fall of wickets: 1-44 (Sanath Jayasuriya, 12.2 ov), 2-106 (Marvan Atapattu, 37.4 ov), 3-135 (Aravinda de Silva, 44.2 ov), 4-211 (Arjuna Ranatunga, 66.4 ov), 5-262 (Hashan Tillakaratne, 81.1 ov), 6-271 (Romesh Kaluwitharana, 84.3 ov), 7-301 (Mahela Jayawardene, 100.2 ov), 8-315 (Kumar Dharmasena, 104.4 ov), 9-319 (Pramodya Wickramasinghe, 105.6 ov), 10-323 (Niroshan Bandaratilleke, 106.4 ov)
Shayne O'Connor401303.25---00
Chris Cairns502004.00---00
Paul Wiseman3039523.16---00
Daniel Vettori2648843.38---00
Chris Harris25.465612.18---02
Craig McMillan1133002.72---00
Nathan Astle531202.40---00
New Zealand 2nd Innings 
Bryan Young c Tillakaratne b Bandaratilleke1128382039.28
Matt Horne lbw b Bandaratilleke320310015.00
Stephen Fleming (c)lbw b Muralidaran1043631023.25
Nathan Astle  b de Silva1370871018.57
Craig McMillan c Jayasuriya b Bandaratilleke18100012.50
Adam Parore not out 32861093037.20
Chris Cairns c Tillakaratne b Bandaratilleke1638301142.10
Chris Harris c Jayawardene b Muralidaran912101075.00
Daniel Vettori run out (Bandaratilleke)034000.00
Paul Wiseman c Tillakaratne b Bandaratilleke2430050.00
Shayne O'Connor c Jayasuriya b Muralidaran02416000.00
Extras(b 7, lb 7, nb 2, w 1)17
TOTAL55 Ov (RR: 2.07)114
Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Matt Horne, 7.1 ov), 2-21 (Bryan Young, 9.1 ov), 3-40 (Stephen Fleming, 20.5 ov), 4-41 (Craig McMillan, 23.5 ov), 5-69 (Nathan Astle, 34.1 ov), 6-94 (Chris Cairns, 43.3 ov), 7-103 (Chris Harris, 46.2 ov), 8-106 (Daniel Vettori, 48.4 ov), 9-109 (Paul Wiseman, 49.3 ov), 10-114 (Shayne O'Connor, 54.6 ov)
Pramodya Wickramasinghe20603.00---00
Niroshan Bandaratilleke2493651.50---01
Aravinda de Silva711812.57---11
Kumar Dharmasena601602.66---00
Muthiah Muralidaran1672431.50---01
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Galle International Stadium
TossNew Zealand, elected to bat first
Player Of The Match
Sri Lanka
Mahela Jayawardene
Series result3-match series level 1-1
Match numberTest no. 1416
Match daysday (5-day match)
Sri Lanka
B.C. Cooray
South Africa
David Orchard
TV Umpire
Sri Lanka
Match Referee
Talat Ali
Wed, 03 Jun - day 1 - New Zealand 1st innings 96/4 (Nathan Astle 30*, Craig McMillan 2*, 55.1 ov)
Thu, 04 Jun - day 2 - New Zealand 1st innings 122/5 (Nathan Astle 42*, Adam Parore 3*, 73 ov)
Fri, 05 Jun - day 3 - Sri Lanka 1st innings 197/3 (Mahela Jayawardene 89*, Arjuna Ranatunga 33*, 60 ov)
Sat, 06 Jun - day 4 - New Zealand 2nd innings 94/5 (Adam Parore 25*, Chris Cairns 16*, 43 ov)
Sun, 07 Jun - day 5 - New Zealand 2nd innings 114 (55 ov) - end of match
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
  • A shower at the scheduled start time delayed play for one hour. The two remaining sessions will have 30 minutes added to them to make up the lost time.
  • HDPK Dharmasena's 6-73 in New Zealand's 1st innings is the 5th best bowling performance in an innings for Sri Lanka in Test cricket. It is the best by a Sri Lankan against New Zealand in Tests (previous: WPUJC Vaas 6-87 at Dunedin in 1994-95).
  • MRCN Bandaratilleke's match haul of 9-82 is the 3rd best Test match bowling figures by a Sri Lankan. It is the 2nd best match performance for Sri Lanka against New Zealand (best: WPUJC Vaas 10-90 at Napier in 1994-95).
AskESPNcricinfo Logo

Instant answers to T20 questions

New Zealand Innings
<1 / 3>