1st Test, Sydney, January 12 - 15, 1979, New Zealand Women tour of Australia

Match drawn

NZ WMN 1st Innings
AUS WMN 1st Innings
NZ WMN 2nd Innings
Match Flow
New Zealand Women 1st Innings 
Barb Bevege c †Stockton b Tredrea0-3000-
Trish McKelvey (c)c Tredrea b Weir31-17220-
Vicki Burtt  b Fitzsimmons16-5120-
Lesley Murdoch lbw b Verco46-14650-
Ev Miller c †Stockton b Weir23-5250-
Sue Rattray lbw b Verco15-4230-
Carol Marett  b Tredrea49-13470-
Jackie Lord c Laing b Weir21-4140-
Eileen Badham not out 13-10800-
Sue Brown c Verco b Lutschini7-3110-
Edna Ryan run out 10-2700-
Extras(b 7, lb 13, nb 2, w 1)23
TOTAL111.4 Ov (RR: 2.27, 421 Mins)254
Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Barb Bevege), 2-42 (Vicki Burtt), 3-82 (Trish McKelvey), 4-127 (Ev Miller), 5-127 (Lesley Murdoch), 6-162 (Sue Rattray), 7-194 (Jackie Lord), 8-225 (Carol Marett), 9-238 (Sue Brown), 10-254 (Edna Ryan, 111.4 ov)
Sharon Tredrea2094021.50---00
Raelee Thompson27154101.13---01
Sharyn Hill941611.33---01
Marie Cornish18.435412.18---00
Judith Laing831201.12---10
Wendy Weir1214632.87---00
Debbie Martin21100.37---00
Peta Verco1582121.05---00
Australia Women 1st Innings 
Peta Verco c Badham b Brown10-5710-
Debbie Martin c †Ryan b Badham36-18700-
Julie Stockton c Badham b Marett117-349110-
Jill Kennare c Bevege b Lord20-6300-
Sharon Tredrea (c)c McGregor b Brown11-1020-
Judith Laing lbw b Badham2-1200-
Wendy Hills not out 69-10470-
Sharyn Hill c Badham b Lord4-1300-
Marie Cornish c McGregor b Lord6-800-
Raelee Thompson not out 3-900-
Extras(b 1, lb 2, w 1)4
TOTAL94.5 Ov (RR: 2.98, 382 Mins)282/8d
Did not bat: Wendy Weir 
Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Peta Verco), 2-98 (Debbie Martin), 3-143 (Jill Kennare), 4-156 (Sharon Tredrea), 5-160 (Judith Laing), 6-241 (Julie Stockton), 7-256 (Sharyn Hill), 8-271 (Marie Cornish)
Eileen Badham2646621.90---10
Sue Brown1985322.09---00
Jackie Lord28.5110332.69---00
Carol Marett2055111.91---00
Sue Rattray10503.75---00
New Zealand Women 2nd Innings 
Barb Bevege c Lutschini b Tredrea81-24050-
Trish McKelvey (c)c Verco b Weir37-12030-
Vicki Burtt  b Verco17-6030-
Ev Miller  b Tredrea27-7650-
Sue Rattray  b Thompson1-200-
Jackie Lord  b Thompson0-800-
Eileen Badham  b Thompson30-11130-
Carol Marett c †Stockton b Fitzsimmons4-3000-
Lesley Murdoch c Laing b Lutschini16-4020-
Sue Brown c Laing b Lutschini19-5310-
Edna Ryan not out 8-1810-
Extras(b 11, lb 2, nb 1, w 2)16
TOTAL107.5 Ov (RR: 2.37, 383 Mins)256
Fall of wickets: 1-80 (Trish McKelvey), 2-131 (Vicki Burtt), 3-171 (Barb Bevege), 4-172 (Sue Rattray), 5-172 (Jackie Lord), 6-174 (Ev Miller), 7-180 (Carol Marett), 8-216 (Lesley Murdoch), 9-241 (Eileen Badham), 10-256 (Sue Brown, 107.5 ov)
Sharon Tredrea1262021.25---10
Raelee Thompson23103731.20---00
Sharyn Hill74510.53---10
Marie Cornish22.573821.25---00
Judith Laing603404.25---00
Wendy Weir1716112.69---01
Peta Verco1362811.61---00
Wendy Hills41400.75---00
Julie Stockton301303.25---00
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Fri, 12 Jan - day 1 - NZ WMN 1st innings 225/7 (Carol Marett 49*, Eileen Badham 7*)
Sat, 13 Jan - day 2 - AUS WMN 1st innings 32/1 (Debbie Martin 12*, Julie Stockton 10*)
Sun, 14 Jan - day 3 - NZ WMN 2nd innings 26/0 (Barb Bevege 7*, Trish McKelvey 19*)
Mon, 15 Jan - day 4 - NZ WMN 2nd innings 256 (107.5 ov) - end of match
  • For this series Shell (New Zealand) donated a Rose Bowl for competition between Australia Women and New Zealand Women. Australia retained the Rose Bowl in the 1981/82 World Cup by beating New Zealand 3-0 in the games that they played against each other. In 1984/85 Shell agreed to sponsor an annual limited overs competition between the sides with the Rose Bowl dedicated specifically to it.
  • Scorers: CE Henshilwood, DA Hockley, EJ Sainsbury
University Oval, Sydney
TossNew Zealand Women, elected to bat first
Series result3-match series level 0-0
Match numberWTEST no. 60
Match daysday (4-day match)
WTEST debut
Debbie Martin
Debbie Martin
Jill Kennare
Jill Kennare
Judith Laing
Judith Laing
Julie Stockton
Julie Stockton
Sharyn Hill
Sharyn Hill
Eileen Badham
Eileen Badham
Ev Miller
Ev Miller
Lesley Murdoch
Lesley Murdoch
Sue Brown
Sue Brown
NZ WMN Innings
<1 / 3>