Water and Power Development Authority 278 (Butt 125, Raees 50) and 198 for 3 (Butt 105*, Saad 40) drew with Habib Bank Limited 236 (Rameez 90, Asif 4-29) and 485 for 1 dec (Imam-ul-Haq 200*, Zaman 170, Shehzad 104*)
WAPDA won on first-innings lead

Salman Butt's second century of the match, a stoic 337-ball effort, thwarted Habib Bank Limited's push for a win on the fifth day of the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy final and ensured that Water and Power Development Authority claimed their maiden title on the basis of a first-innings lead.

Resuming from an overnight score of 83 for 2 in a chase of 444, the overnight pair of Butt and Mohammad Saad stretched their third-wicket partnership to 90 before the latter was dismissed, the only WAPDA wicket to fall on the day. Butt and Aamer Sajjad then battled their way to a draw, adding 72 runs off 50.4 overs in an unbroken fourth-wicket partnership.

Butt, whose 125 was instrumental in his side securing the first-innings lead, ended the fifth day unbeaten on 105, having hit 16 fours.

Habib Bank tried 10 bowlers in all during the fourth innings but the only bowler to pick up a wicket on the fifth day was Imam-ul-Haq, who dismissed Saad for 40. Sajjad was unbeaten on 25 off 141 balls.

Butt's 105 not out was his fourth century of the tournament, one of only three batsmen to have scored four or more centuries in the competition. He finished as the sixth-highest run-getter with 741 runs in 16 innings at an average of 49.40. The top spot on the run chart was occupied by his team-mate Kamran Akmal, who scored 1035 runs in 14 innings with five centuries. Akmal scored 35 in the only innings he played in the final. Imam-ul-Haq, who struck 200 not out in Habib Bank's second innings, ended as the third highest run-getter with 848 runs in 20 innings.