Matches (18)
IND v SA (1)
PAK v ENG (1)
WI-W v NZ-W (1)
CPL (1)
Road Safety (1)
County DIV1 (5)
County DIV2 (4)
Marsh Cup (1)
Legends League (1)
U19WC QLF (2)
Group B, Cuttack, February 28, 2017, Vijay Hazare Trophy
(33.4/50 ov, T:368) 172

Maharashtra won by 195 runs


Jadhav's 64-ball 113 roughs up Delhi

A round-up of the Vijay Hazare Trophy Group B matches played on February 28, 2017

Kedar  Jadhav plays a sweep shot, Australia A v India A, Quadrangular A-team one-day series, final, Mackay, September 4, 2016

File photo - Kedar Jadhav's 64-ball 113 contained 11 fours and eight sixes  •  Cricket Australia/Getty Images

A blazing hundred from Kedar Jadhav led Maharashtra to a 195-run win against Delhi at the DRIEMS ground in Cuttack. Sent in to bat, Maharashtra were 79 for 2 in the 18th over, following a 52-run second-wicket stand between Vijay Zol (35) and Naushad Shaikh, when Jadhav walked in. From there, he stitched partnerships of 107 for the third wicket with Shaikh (52) and 59 for the fourth with Nikhil Naik (63 off 46) before he was out for 113 off 64 balls, with 11 fours and eight sixes. Useful contributions from the lower middle order propelled Maharashtra to a total of 367 for 8.
Delhi's chase began with a 64-run opening stand between Shikhar Dhawan (24) and Gautam Gambhir (53 off 57 balls) and fell apart steadily thereafter. They were bowled out for 172 in only 33.4 overs as the left-arm spinner Jagdish Zope ran through their line-up with figures of 5 for 19, his maiden five-wicket haul in only his third List A match.
A five-wicket haul from Aswin Crist helped Tamil Nadu bowl Himachal Pradesh out for 216 before they coasted to an eight-wicket win courtesy a century from Kaushik Gandhi at Barabati Stadium. Crist dismissed the opener Prashant Chopra in the seventh over of the innings, and later ran through Himachal's lower order to finish with figures of 5 for 31 from 9.5 overs. Himachal had only one partnership of note in their innings - 89 between Robin Bist (57) and Ankit Kaushik (62 off 60 balls) for the fifth wicket, and were bowled out in 49.5 overs.
Gandhi steered Tamil Nadu's chase, scoring an unbeaten 107 off 131 balls (12x4, 2x6), putting on 107 for the second wicket with B Aparajith (52) and an unbroken 86 for the third with Dinesh Karthik (45*). They reached their target in 42.2 overs.
Sarfaraz Khan's maiden List A century went in vain as Tripura sneaked to a two-wicket win against Uttar Pradesh in a low-scoring thriller at the KIIT Stadium in Bhubaneswar. Sent in to bat, UP were bowled out for 197 in 41.2 overs, with the new-ball pair of Abhijit Sarkar and Ajoy Sarkar sharing seven wickets. UP found Abhijit particularly difficult to deal with - he finished with figures of 3 for 14 from nine overs.
In the midst of all that, Sarfaraz, walking in at 38 for 4, scored 100 off 103 balls, with 12 fours and two sixes, before he was last man out. UP could have been bowled out for less than 100 - they were 39 for 6 at one stage, and only recovered thanks to a 90-run seventh-wicket stand between Sarfaraz and Kuldeep Yadav (25).
Tripura made a solid start to their chase, moving to 71 for 2 courtesy opener Udiyan Bose's run-a-ball 45. But they slipped to 73 for 5, with wristspinners Kuldeep and Piyush Chawla getting among the wickets, before Smit Patel (53 off 56) and Gurinder Singh pulled them back on track with a sixth-wicket stand of 102. Three more wickets then fell for the addition of six runs, leaving Tripura 17 runs away from their target with only two wickets in hand, but Gurinder (64*, 90b, 7x4, 1x6) and Dwaipayan Bhattacharjee (6*) steered them home in the 44th over.

Delhi Innings
<1 / 3>
Vijay Hazare Trophy
Group A
Group B
Group C
Group D
J + K61504-0.840