Final, London, Sep 21 2013, Yorkshire Bank 40
(33/40 ov, target 245)157
Notts won by 87 runs
player of the match
Samit Patel
Article Thumbnail
• Alan Gardner at Lord's

Nottinghamshire sweep to YB40 victory

Nottinghamshire claimed their first piece of one-day silverware in more than two decades with a dominant 87-run victory at Lord's

Match centre 
Commentator: Callum Stewart
Scorecard summary
Nottinghamshire244/8(40 overs)
Glamorgan157/10(33 overs)
Chris Cooke46 (45)
Jim Allenby34 (40)
end of over 335 runs • 3 wickets
GLAM: 157/10CRR: 4.75 RRR: 12.57 • Need 88 from 42b
Simon Jones0 (0)
Stuart Broad7-0-29-3
Harry Gurney5-0-22-1

Notts Outlaws win by 87 runs. We are just awaiting the post-match presentation as the celebrations start in the dressing room.

Samit Patel says the team were outstanding today, probably saying that those deliveries he gave Cooke and Allenby were among the best he has ever bowled. He felt that 244 was par and that the bowling and fielding secured them the victory. With figures of 3-21 from seven overs he was the man in the middle of the innings who tore through the Glamorgan batsmen. His lbw of Goodwin removed the potential danger man early before he could do any damage.

Not forgetting Broad who cleaned up with three, Ajmal who got three of his own and Gurney who started so well with a wicket from his first ball.

Kaspar Larsen following all the way from Denmark says, "For all the complaints about Broad and Swann being parachuted in, it's refreshing to see that it's the regular players who are taking wickets and scoring runs for Notts."

And that's the end of 40-over cricket for the near future, as the ECB reverts back to 50-overs competition next year, and we don't know when we will see it again. The debate will go on and on, about what formats to play, but this year the competition was fierce, and we had a great final on show here at Lord's today.

We are all ready for the presentation now and the umpires are receiving their medals.

The Man of the Match goes to Samit Patel as many might have guessed. Lots of great performances out there but he was the one who turned the match around. He gets his own medal and a rather large bottle of bubbly. "I prefer batting, and I didn't think I would get a bowl," says a rather coy Patel.

Glamorgan receive their runners-up medals. Simon Jones gets a big round of applause after retiring from this format of the game. Skipper Mark Wallace says they have played well as a team all year, which was shown in patches but not good enough to win the trophy.

Nottinghamshire now collect their winners medals in batting order, before getting to lift the trophy. Notts also receive £100,000 for winning the competition.

Chris Read has a quick word. A big crowd have stayed behind. "Glamorgan bowled well, but Hales and Lumb got us through, then the partnership with Hussey gave us the foundation."

The corks are popping and the trophy is presented. Notts are the YB40 Champions.

Thanks for joining me, Callum Stewart, this afternoon for the curtain cull on the English domestic season for the coverage at Lord's. English cricket fans will now have a little break before taking on the Ashes down under.

Broad to Hogan, OUT
Michael Hogan b Broad 0 (5m 3b 0x4 0x6) SR: 0
Broad to Hogan, no run
Broad to Hogan, no run
Broad to Wagg, OUT
Graham Wagg c †Read b Broad 18 (38m 31b 2x4 0x6) SR: 58.06
Broad to Wagg, 2 runs
Broad to Cosker, OUT
Dean Cosker c Mullaney b Broad 3 (9m 7b 0x4 0x6) SR: 42.85
end of over 323 runs
GLAM: 155/7CRR: 4.84 RRR: 11.25 • Need 90 from 48b
Dean Cosker3 (6)
Graham Wagg16 (29)
Harry Gurney5-0-22-1
Ajmal Shahzad6-0-33-3
Gurney to Cosker, 1 run
Gurney to Cosker, no run
Gurney to Cosker, no run
Gurney to Wagg, 1 run
Gurney to Cosker, 1 run
Gurney to Cosker, no run
end of over 318 runs • 2 wickets
GLAM: 152/7CRR: 4.90 RRR: 10.33 • Need 93 from 54b
Graham Wagg15 (28)
Dean Cosker1 (1)
Ajmal Shahzad6-0-33-3
Samit Patel7-0-21-3
Shahzad to Wagg, FOUR runs
Shahzad to Wagg, no run
Shahzad to Cosker, 1 run
Shahzad to Salter, OUT
Andrew Salter lbw b Shahzad 2 (2m 2b 0x4 0x6) SR: 100
Shahzad to Salter, 2 runs
Shahzad to Salter, 1 wide
Shahzad to Wright, OUT
Ben Wright c Lumb b Shahzad 14 (30m 22b 0x4 0x6) SR: 63.63
end of over 301 run
GLAM: 144/5CRR: 4.80 RRR: 10.10 • Need 101 from 60b
Graham Wagg11 (26)
Ben Wright14 (21)
Samit Patel7-0-21-3
Graeme Swann6-0-36-0
Patel to Wagg, no run
Match details
Lord's, London
TossGlamorgan, elected to field first
SeriesYorkshire Bank 40
Player Of The Match
Samit Patel
Samit Patel
Series resultNottinghamshire won the 2013 Yorkshire Bank 40
Hours of play (local time)11.30 start, First Session 11.30-14.10, Interval 14.10-14.35, Second Session 14.35-17.15
Match days21 September 2013 - day(40-over match)
England Image
Peter Hartley
England Image
Richard Kettleborough
TV Umpire
England Image
Neil Mallender